NESCAC Releases Spring All-Academic List



NESCAC_primary_croppedHADLEY, Mass. – One hundred-and-eleven Amherst College student-athletes were honored for excellence in the classroom Wednesday as the NESCAC released its 2014 Spring All-Academic selections. To receive the award, an individual must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter-winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35 on a 4.0 scale. A transfer student must have completed one year of study at the institution.

Amherst’s 111 honorees ranks first among conference institutions without varsity rowing or sailing programs. Overall, Tufts (130) earned the most awards followed by Amherst, Williams (108), and Colby (99). Middlebury was next with 98 on the list, while Bowdoin (87), Wesleyan (85), Bates (84), Connecticut College (74), Trinity (59) and Hamilton (58) rounded out the totals.

The Jeffs’ women's outdoor track and field program was especially well-represented, with 20 of 26 eligible student-athletes earning academic recognition. Men’s lacrosse was nearly as prolific, with 23 of 31 potential honorees recognized. The tennis programs combined for 23 awards (12 men, 11 women) while baseball boasted 15, men’s track and field grabbed 12, women’s lacrosse tallied 11, and softball picked up seven.

An impressive 22 members of the recently graduated Class of 2014 stood out as three-time Spring All-Academic picks, including Brenton Arnaboldi, Karan Bains, Chris Dale, Joey Fritz, Justin Hendrix and Justin Reindel of the national champion men’s tennis team. Representing the senior class members on the women’s tennis team were Alex Budd, Claire DiMario, Zoe Pangalos, Lauren Slutsky and Mary Soyster. Also earning three-time honors were Dylan Driscoll, Alex Hero, Eric Kotin, and Quinn Saunders-Kolberg of baseball, Caroline Holliday and Annelies O’Dea of women’s lacrosse, Matt Melton and Charlie Reighard of men’s outdoor track and field, as well as Patrick Moroney (men’s lacrosse), Kaitlin Silkowitz (softball) and Jaya Tripathi (women’s outdoor track and field).

Twelve Jeffs also distinguished themselves for both academic and athletic excellence as All-NESCAC and All-Academic selections. The group includes tennis players Jordan Brewer ’14, Fritz, Reindel and Michael Solimano ’16, track and field standouts Naomi Bates ’14 and Mark Cort ’15, men’s lacrosse sophomores Ryan Cassidy and Quinn Moroney, baseball’s John Cook ’15 and Taiki Kasuga ’14, softball’s Silkowitz and Donna Leet ’15, and Rachel Passarelli ’16 from the women’s lacrosse team.

The conference recently released its spring All-Sportsmanship Teams as well, with honorees selected by the players and coaches from their respective teams. Representing Amherst were Tyler Jacobs ’15 (baseball), Alena Marovitz ’17 (softball), Aaron Mathias ’14 (men’s lacrosse), Reindel, Holliday, Sue Ghosh ’16 (women’s tennis), Javier Paulino ’14 (men’s outdoor track and field) and Nia Harris (women’s outdoor track and field). In addition to Holliday and Reindel, Harris was also an All-Academic pick.