Lambert Wins Individual Title, Jeffs 3rd at NESCACs

Contact: Matthew Hart


BRUNSWICK, Maine – All-American Keri Lambert ’13 shattered the Bowdoin course record, winning in 20:33.45 to claim the conference’s individual title as the Amherst College women’s cross country team placed third out of 11 teams at Saturday’s NESCAC Championship race.

After finishing second a year ago, Lambert became the fourth Jeff to win the event in the past six years, her triumph coming in emphatic fashion as she pulled far ahead of the field and outpaced Middlebury runner-up Addie Tousley (21:20.62) by 47 seconds on the six-kilometer course.

After Lambert, Lizzy Briskin ’15 was the next Jeff to cross the line, placing 14th in 22:14.04 while Lauren Almeida ’13 (22:19.41) was just behind her in 16th. Caroline Rose ’16 took 36th place in 22:42.29 and Elodie Reed ’13 completed the Amherst scoring with a 46th-place time of 23:00.88.

No. 3 Williams took home the team title on the strength of Kaleigh Kenny (21:37.80), Brianne Mirecki (21:47.12), and Adrienne Strait (21:50.01), who followed Lambert and Tousley to finish in places 3-5, respectively. The Ephs totaled just 45 points, while fifth-ranked Middlebury grabbed second with a team score of 71.

Behind 20th-ranked Amherst (107), No. 17 Tufts and No. 28 Bates tied for fourth with 138 points each, while Wesleyan took sixth with a score of 153. Bowdoin (161), Colby (186), Hamilton (215), Conn. College (285), and Trinity (355) completed the team scoring.

After the top five, Amherst sent its remaining harriers across the line in groups, with Betsy Black ’16 (23:07.52) and Olivia Tarantino ’15 (23:09.53) close behind Reed in 50th and 52nd, respectively. Amy Dao ’14 was next, taking 67th in 23:39.61, while Anna Berglund ’16 (23:40.50) followed quickly in 69th. Lexi Sinclair ’16 (23:53.41), Jessie Kaliski ’15 (23:53.78), and Abby Hopper ’13 (23:57.10) were the final Jeffs across, taking 79th, 80th, and 82nd, respectively.

Amherst will continue its postseason next Saturday, Nov. 3, with the ECAC Championship race at Williams.