Briskin Paces Jeffs at NEICAAA Championships

Briskin.jpgContact: Ben Badua


BOSTON, Mass. - Led by Lizzy Briskin ’15 the Amherst women’s cross country team placed 25th out of 43 Division I, II and III programs at the 2013 NEICAAA Championships.

The Jeffs top varsity finisher in a field of 283 runners, Briskin clocked in at 19:10. Sophie Currin ’17 was the second Amherst runner to cross the finish line with a time of 19:18, followed by Catherine Lowdon ’17 (19:23) and Amy Dao ’14 (19:25).

Jessie Kaliski ’15 was fifth in the Purple & White’s scoring seven, completing the course in 19:32. Savanna Gornisiewicz ’17 and Betsy Black ’16 rounded out the Jeffs’ varsity lineup with times of 19:36 and 19:40, respectively.

Pacing Amherst in the 299-harrier sub-varsity race was Caroline Rose ’16, who ranked 31st with a time of 19:38. Lisa Walker ’14 put forth a solid effort with a time of 19:44, while Hannah Herrera ’17 (19:51), Olivia Tarantino ’15 (20:03) and Sarah Foster ’16 (20:10) also broke into the Jeffs’ sub-varsity top-five.

Boston University’s Rosa Moriello ’15 was the top varsity individual finisher with a time of 17:13, while New Hampshire’s Sarah Keiran ’17 (18:24), Hannah Kimball ’17 (18:53) and Brianna Boden ’16 (18:56) claimed the top-three spots in the sub-varsity race.

Placing three runners in the varsity top-15, New Hampshire took home the team title with 57 points, followed by UConn (167) and Yale (180) in the top-three. Boston University placed fourth with a score of 186, while Middlebury came in fifth (192).

Quinnipiac (193) finished sixth overall, with MIT (223), Vermont (248), Sacred Heart (311) and Holy Cross (330) coming in seventh through tenth, respectively.

Amherst returns to action on Saturday, Oct. 19 at the Little Three Championships.