Amherst Edges 8th-ranked Trinity in Overtime to Earn No. 4 Seed

Amherst's 1-0 overtime victory at Trinity earned the Lord Jeffs a first-round home game in the upcoming NESCAC Championship.
Courtesy of Trinity College Sports Information

HARTFORD, CT – The Amherst College field hockey team will host a first-round game in the NESCAC Championship for the first time since 2003 thanks to a 1-0 overtime victory at 8th-ranked Trinity College. The Jeffs, who have now won six games in a row, earned the No. 4 seed and will host fifth-seeded Trinity Sunday, Nov. 2 at 1 p.m. on Gooding Field.

Amherst has not tasted defeat since a 4-0 loss to undefeated, fourth-ranked and top-seeded Tufts University (14-0/9-0 NESCAC) on Oct. 4. The Jeffs have since gone 6-0 overall and 4-0 in conference play to climb the NESCAC standings and earn a first-round home game.

Thirty-two seconds into the second overtime, junior Molly Malloy (Stamford, CT) scored the game-winning goal for the Lord Jeffs, who upset the Bantams 1-0 in an epic battle tonight on Robin L. Sheppard Field. The outcome is significant for both teams, which were fighting for home field advantage in the opening round match of the NESCAC Championship. 

Neither offense was able to penetrate the strong defensive lines tonight until Malloy's game-winning goal. Trinity was in control for the majority of the match, out-shooting the Lord Jeffs 18-8, but could not capitalize, as Amherst first-year goalkeeper Emily Vitale (Cheshire, CT) denied every Bantam attempt, finishing with eight saves for the shutout.

Trinity first-year goalkeeper Gina Dinallo (West Hartford, CT) made four saves, blanking the Amherst offense for 105 minutes, until Malloy put an end to the stalemate.


Sunday, Nov. 2 at Higher Seeds
All Quarterfinal Games at 1 p.m.
No. 8 Colby at No. 1 Tufts
No. 7 Bates at No. 2 Bowdoin
No. 6 Williams at No. 3 Middlebury
No. 5 Trinity at No. 4 Amherst

Saturday, Nov. 8 at Highest Remaining Seed
Semifinal games at 11:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.
Highest remaining seed vs. lowest remaining seed
Remaining first round winners

Sunday, Nov. 9
Final - 12:00 p.m.
Semifinal winners