Amherst Earns Four All-NESCAC Honors; Emily Vitale Named Rookie of the Year

AMHERST, MA – The 2008 NESCAC Field Hockey All-Conference Team was announced today, with four Amherst College student-athletes earning postseason recognition. Senior Alyssa Dudzik (Darien, CT) was named to the First Team, with juniors Molly Malloy (Stamford, CT) and Tierney Healey (Moreland Hills, OH) and first-year Emily Vitale (Cheshire, CT) earning a spot on the Second Team. Vitale was also named the conference’s Rookie of the Year.

This marks the third consecutive First Team honor for Dudzik, who this year contributed two goals and two assists for six points while starting in all 15 games for the Lord Jeffs as a tri-captain midfielder. Dudzik totaled five goals and nine assists for 19 points in her four years at Amherst, as she established herself as one of the best midfielders in the conference.

Senior Alyssa Dudzik was named to the All-NESCAC First Team for a third consecutive year.
A two-time All-America selection, Dudzik was also selected by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) to partake in the 2008 NFHCA Division III Senior All-Star Game, which is to take place Sunday, Nov. 23 at Ursinus College. In her four years at Amherst, Dudzik helped lead her team to a 31-29 record and three consecutive postseason appearances.

Leading Amherst in points for a third consecutive year was Malloy, who finished with eight goals and two assists despite missing a significant portion of the season. Upon returning from an injury midway through the season, Malloy rebounded by combining for 11 points in two games en route to a NESCAC Player of the Week honor. After totaling 18 points as a first-year, Malloy erupted for 32 points as a sophomore before adding 18 more this year, bringing her career totals to 31 goals, six assists and 68 points.

Joining Malloy on the Second Team and in the junior class is Healey, who finished second in the NESCAC in defensive saves for the second time in her three-year career. After recording five defensive saves as a first-year, Healey’s six as a sophomore led the conference before she added another five in 2008. Healey is the only player in the NESCAC to record at least five defensive saves in each of the past three years.

Rounding out the All-Conference selections is Vitale, who wasted no time making an impact on the Amherst field hockey program. Vitale posted a 9-5 record in her debut season, recording a 1.30 goals-against average (6th in the NESCAC) and a .822 save percentage (3rd in the NESCAC) with two shutouts. As the only first-year to garner an All-Conference selection, Vitale was named the Rookie of the Year.

Amherst and Tufts each earned four All-NESCAC selections, with no other school featuring more than three players on an All-Conference Team. Bowdoin's Lindsay McNamara was named the Offensive Player of the Year, while Tufts' Margi Scholtes and Tina McDavitt were named the Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively.


First Team
F - Tamara Brown - So. (Tufts)
F - Chase Delano - So. (Middlebury)
F - Lindsay McNamara - Sr. (Bowdoin)
F - Robyn Williams - So. (Trinity)
M - Julia King - Sr. (Bowdoin)
M - Alyssa Dudzik - Sr. (Amherst)
M - Meighan McGowan - Sr. (Williams)
D - Christine Mwatarura - Sr. (Trinity)
D - Taryn Petrelli - Sr. (Middlebury)
D - Margi Scholtes - Jr. (Tufts)
GK - Katie McEnroe - So. (Bates)

Second Team
F - Karli del Rossi - Sr. (Trinity)
F - Rachel Greenwood - Sr. (Bates)
F - Abby Hine - So. (Conn.)
F - Molly Malloy - Jr. (Amherst)
F - Heather McCormack - Jr. (Middlebury)            
M - Brittany Holiday - Sr. (Tufts)
M - Meryl Poulin - So. (Colby)
M - Amanda Roberts - So. (Tufts)
D - Sarah Burleigh - Sr. (Williams)
D - Leah Ferenc - Sr. (Bowdoin)
D - Lucy Gotta - Sr. (Conn.)
D - Tierney Healey - Jr. (Amherst)
GK - Emily Vitale - Fy. (Amherst)