Guariglia Earns Prestigious Nils V. "Swede" Nelson Award

Dan Guariglia

AMHERST, MA – The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced its 2007 college football award winners this past weekend. Amherst College senior tri-captain Dan Guariglia (Glen Rock, NJ) earned the Nils V. “Swede” Nelson Award, one of the organization’s oldest and most prestigious honors, which recognizes outstanding achievement in academics, athletics, sportsmanship and citizenship. The award recipients were selected by the College Awards Committee and the Officials’ Committee, and will be presented at the Bob Whelan College Night Dinner Jan. 10 in Burlington, MA.

The award was given annually to one player across all of college football from 1946 to 1988, and has been given annually to two players (one from Division I and one from Division II or III) since 1989. Guariglia becomes the third Amherst College student-athlete and 17th NESCAC student-athlete to earn the honor, as a NESCAC player has won the award in each of the past four years. Previous winners include the Seattle Seahawks’ starting quarterback Matt Hasselbeck (Boston College ’97).

In addition to earning NESCAC Fall All-Academic honors for the second consecutive year, Guariglia earned a spot on the 2007 NESCAC All-Conference Second Team as an offensive lineman, marking the first All-Conference honor of his career. Guariglia was a major component of a solid offensive core that allowed only 11 sacks all season and featured the NESCAC’s best rushing offense through the first five weeks of the season, as the Jeffs were averaging an impressive 185.2 yards per game on the ground.

Now in its 75th year, the Gridiron Club is an entirely volunteer organization whose committee members give their time and expertise to further the club’s mission of promoting the game of football at all levels and nurturing the ideals of citizenship, sportsmanship, leadership, and athletic and academic achievement.

Amherst College Recipients of the Nils V. “Swede” Nelson Award
Greg Schneider (1995)
Fletcher Ladd (2004)
Dan Guariglia (2007)