Wray, Belkin, Arena Earn NESCAC Honors


AMHERST, MA – On the heels of the 2010 NESCAC Championship Qualifier at Trinity College over the weekend, two members and the coach of the Amherst College men’s golf team received accolades from the conference office this afternoon. Amherst senior co-captain Trip Wray (Walpole, MA) and junior Nate Belkin (Needham, MA) received First and Second Team All-NESCAC honors, respectively, while head coach Jack Arena was named the 2010 NESCAC Coach of the Year.

Wray was one of six players to earn a spot on the 2010 NESCAC All-Conference First Team. After tying with Williams’ Robert Camp for fifth individually at the two-day qualifier tournament with a score of 145 (+3), Wray secured All-NESCAC accolades for the second time in his career (2007 Second Team). Wray and the Lord Jeffs ended the weekend in third place, Amherst’s best showing at a fall NESCAC event since coming in second at the rain-shortened 2003 championship.

Today’s Second Team honor is the first of Belkin's career. Belkin finished the weekend tied for seventh individually with a two-day score of 147 (+5). With Belkin joining Wray to earn All-Conference honors, the Lord Jeffs placed two members on the All-NESCAC teams for the first time since 2004.

Arena was chosen by his peers as the 2010 conference Coach of the Year. Now in his 18th season guiding the Lord Jeff golf team, Arena’s squad finished among the top four teams at the NESCAC Fall Qualifier for the first time since the championship format was altered in the 2007-08 season. Three of Amherst’s eight NESCAC titles have come during Arena’s tenure. It is the first time that Arena, a 1983 graduate of the college and the 2009 Coach of the Year in men’s ice hockey, has won the award.


2010 NESCAC Golf All-Conference Teams

First Team
Brian Cady – Middlebury
Robert Camp – Williams
Rob Donahoe – Middlebury
Jay Driscoll – Trinity
Peter Taylor – Wesleyan
Trip Wray – Amherst
Second Team
Nate Belkin – Amherst

Jim Levins – Middlebury
Drew Murray – Williams
John Schilling – Trinity
Greg Scott – Hamilton
Jacob Wagner – Williams
Player of the Year – Brian Cady, Middlebury
Rookie of the Year – Rob Donahoe, Middlebury
Coach of the Year – Jack Arena, Amherst