Three Jeffs Earn All-NESCAC Honors

AMHERST, MA – The NESCAC announced today the members of its 2008 Men’s Soccer All-Conference Team, with three Amherst College student-athletes earning a postseason honor. Seniors Jake Duker (Newton, MA) and Grayson Holland (Sudbury, MA) were each selected to the First Team, while junior G.L. Genco (Hauppauge, NY) grabbed a Second Team nod.

Senior Grayson Holland earned All-NESCAC honors for the third time in as many years.
After battling through injuries and earning a spot on the All-NESCAC Second Team last year, Duker took his game to another level in 2008. He not only leads Amherst in scoring for the third consecutive season, but he also sits atop the conference leaderboard with a career-best 13 goals and 29 points.

Duker scored what proved to be the game-winning goal and added an assist on an insurance goal in the final round of the 2008 NESCAC Championship, as he led the Lord Jeffs to a 2-0 win over Middlebury and their first conference title in program history. For his career, Duker has totaled 31 goals and 14 assists for 76 points.

On defense, Holland had All-NESCAC honors bestowed upon him for the third consecutive year, as he was a Second Team selection in 2006 and a First Team honoree last year. Holland has three goals through 17 games—giving him six goals and two assists for his career—while leading a defense that ranks second in the conference in goals allowed (13).

Rounding out Amherst’s honorees is Genco, who is in his first season with the Lord Jeffs. A transfer from Connecticut College, Genco made an immediate impact on the Amherst team and was made a captain midway through the season. Genco has recorded two assists while controlling the tempo of the game and providing an intangible presence in the midfield.

Middlebury College swept the individual awards, as Brian Bush, Tyler Macnee and David Saward were named the Player, Rookie and Coach of the Year, respectively.

The Lord Jeffs return to action Saturday, Nov. 15 when they host Western New England College in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament. Game time is set for 1:30 p.m. on Hitchcock Field.

All-NESCAC First Team
F – Jake Duker – Sr. (Amherst)
F – Trevor Prophet – So. (Conn.)
F – Sam Wisner – Jr. (Trinity)
M – Alan Ashenfelter – Sr. (Wesleyan)
M – Allen Bourdon – Sr. (Middlebury)
M – Sam Empson – Sr. (Williams)
M – Ben Denton-Schneider – So. (Bowdoin)
D – Grayson Holland – Sr. (Amherst)
D – Corey Moffat – Sr. (Middlebury)
D – Colin Nangle – Jr. (Middlebury)
GK – Brian Bush – Sr. (Middlebury)
All-NESCAC Second Team
F – Nick Cantone – Sr. (Trinity)
F – Tyler Macnee – Fy. (Middlebury)
F – Pierre Meloty-Kapella – Jr. (Williams)
M – Baer Fisher – Sr. (Middlebury)
M – G.L. Genco – Jr. (Amherst)
M – Logan King – Sr. (Colby)
M – Chris Meinke – Sr. (Conn.)
D – Peter DeGregorio – Sr. (Tufts)
D – Tom Milaschewski – Sr. (Colby)
D – Clark Winchell – Sr. (Bates)
GK – Zac Trudeau – Sr. (Trinity)