Amherst Places Four on 2010 Men's Soccer All-NESCAC Teams

Ian Rothkopf '11 earned All-NESCAC First
Team honors as a senior this year.

AMHERST, MA – The Amherst College men’s soccer program placed four members onto the 2010 NESCAC All-Conference Teams this afternoon, led by a First Team selection for senior quad-captain Ian Rothkopf (Harvard, MA). Chris Skayne ’11 (Boxborough, MA), James Mooney ’12 (Princeton, NJ) and Spencer Noon ’13 (Farmington, CT) each earned Second Team recognition as well.

The four selections for the Lord Jeffs is the second highest total in the conference, trailing only the six honorees from Middlebury College (4 First Team, 2 Second Team). The Ephs of Williams College also placed four players on this year’s All-NESCAC teams.  

For Rothkopf, this season has been another fabulous run for a player that has gotten better during each of his four years at Amherst. As a rookie in 2007, Rothkopf had four goals and an assist for nine points, before tallying another eight points on two goals and four assists as a sophomore. Last year, Rothkopf had 13 points on five goals and three assists. Despite dropping back into the midfield this year as a senior, Rothkopf has set career marks for goals (6), assists (8) and points (20). Heading into the NCAA Tournament, Rothkopf is tied for the NESCAC lead in assists, and has 50 points for his career at Amherst.  

Skayne, also a senior quad-captain for Amherst, earns All-NESCAC recognition for the first time in his four years as a Lord Jeff. One of the hardest working players on the field, Skayne has played nearly every position on the field for Amherst during his career. Skayne has dished out five assists during his career, and has helped Amherst post a 53-12-8 record over the last four seasons. Heading into the weekend, Skayne is still looking for his first collegiate score.

For his unparalleled goal-scoring ability, Noon earned the first All-NESCAC selection of his career as a sophomore this fall. The conference leader in points (24), goals (11) and game-winning goals (4), Noon has been one of the best finishers in New England over the last two years. Already with 19 goals and seven assists for 45 points after less than two full years, Noon will surely challenge Amherst’s career all-time scoring record before he graduates in 2013.

Chris Skayne '11 earned the first All-NESCAC
selection of his career in 2010

Rounding out Amherst’s four selections is Mooney, a junior winger who has made a name for himself as one of the most dangerous players to race down the sidelines of NESCAC fields. With five goals and five assists this season, Mooney has scored 15 goals with eight assists in his less than three years at Amherst. This year, Mooney, Noon and Rothkopf, have combined to account for more than half of the team’s goals this season, and nine of Amherst’s 11 game-winning goals.

The Lord Jeffs fell to Middlebury 2-0 in the NESCAC Semifinals last weekend, dropping to 11-2-3 overall, but received an at-large bid to the upcoming NCAA Tournament. Amherst will take its quartet of All-NESCAC selections on the road, traveling to St. Lawrence University to face Plattsburgh State University in the First Round at 1:30 p.m. on Saturday. For a full preview of this weekend’s games at St. Lawrence, click here.

This weekend's NCAA Tournament game marks the fifth consecutive time that the Lord Jeffs will play in the national Division III tournament. Amherst's best result came in 2008, when Rothkopf, Skayne and Mooney helped lead the Lord Jeffs on a run all the way to the National Semifinals.  Amherst has an 11-8-5 all-time record in the NCAA Tournament, and has won its opening round game in each of the program's ten appearances in the field.

2010 NESCAC Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams

First Team
F - Gaston Kelly - Williams
F - Tyler Macnee - Middlebury
F - Trevor Prophet - Connecticut College
F - Charles Romero - Williams
M - Jake Edwards - Middlebury
M - Call Nichols - Bowdoin
M - Ian Rothkopf - Amherst
D - Sean Bishop - Bowdoin
D - Joe Vella - Williams
D - Harrison Watkins - Middlebury
GK - Tim Cahill - Middlebury

Second Team
F - Spencer Noon - Amherst
F - Robbie Redmond - Middlebury
F - Walter Rodriguez - Wesleyan
M - Carson Cornbrooks - Middlebury
M - Ben Denton-Schneider - Bowdoin
M - James Mooney - Amherst
M - Tim Prior - Bowdoin
D - Ben Desmond - Colby
D - Matt Ratajczak - Williams
D - Chris Skayne - Amherst
GK - Grant Schonberg - Trinity

Player of the Year
D Harrison Watkins Middlebury Sr. San Francisco, Calif.

Rookie of the Year
D Ben Brewster Bowdoin Fr. Cape Elizabeth, Maine

Coach of the Year
Fran O'Leary Bowdoin