Ferguson, Darling, Murphy Earn All-NESCAC Honors

Alanna Darling
Alanna Darling

AMHERST, MA – The NESCAC announced today the members of the 2007 NESCAC Women’s Soccer All-Conference teams, with three members of the Amherst College team earning postseason honors. Sophomore Meg Murphy (Springfield, MA) and junior Alanna Darling (Charlton, MA) were each named to the All-NESCAC First Team for the second consecutive year, while sophomore Lili Ferguson (Winnetka, IL) was named to the Second Team.

In addition to earning First Team honors in 2006, Murphy was named the NESCAC Rookie of the Year to kick start her career as a Lord Jeff. This season, Murphy led the Amherst offense with four goals and two assists for 10 points, bringing her career totals to 10 goals and five assists. Two of Murphy’s four goals this season came in game-winning fashion against NESCAC opponents, as she netted the lone score in a 1-0 win at Bates College and scored the eventual game winner in a 2-0 victory over Trinity College.

Meg Murphy
Meg Murphy 

Darling was also one of four players to earn First Team recognition for the second consecutive year, as she finished second on the Jeffs in scoring with a career-high three goals and an assist. Darling anchored a defense that allowed 17 goals in 15 games and posted six shutouts, as the Jeffs allowed more than two goals in a game just once.

Ferguson is no stranger to being recognized by the NESCAC, as she was named the conference’s Player of the Week on Monday, Oct. 15 for leading the Jeffs to a pair of in-conference shutouts that came in the midst of a five-game unbeaten streak. Ferguson’s most impressive stretch of dominance came when she played more than 437 consecutive minutes without allowing a goal. The sophomore goalkeeper was pushed to the limit this year, as she led the NESCAC in minutes played and took part in six games that required at least one overtime period.

Lili Ferguson
Lili Ferguson

2007 NESCAC Women’s Soccer All-Conference
Coach of the Year: Michelyne Pinard, Williams
Player of the Year: Gabrielle Woodson, Williams
Rookie of the Year: Cara Cadigan, Tufts

First Team

F - Cara Cadigan (Tufts - Sr.)
F - Brianna Wolfson (Williams - So.)
F - Gabrielle Woodson (Williams - Jr.) ^
F - Ann Zeigler (Bowdoin - Sr.) *
M - Bobbi Dennison (Bowdoin - Sr.)
M - Martha Furtek (Tufts - Sr.) *
M - Kaolin McEvoy (Williams - Sr.)
M - Meg Murphy (Amherst - So.) *
D - Caitlin Colesanti (Williams - Jr.)
D - Alanna Darling (Amherst - Jr.) *
D - Anjuli Demers (Middlebury - So.)
GK - Lauren Sinnenberg (Williams - So.)

Second Team
F - Sam Blank (Wesleyan - Jr.)
F - Jackie Wade (Connecticut College - Sr.)
F - Lindsay Walker (Middlebury - So.)
M - Katie McCabe (Colby - Sr.) ^
M - Dana Riker (Bowdoin - So.)
M - Maika Scifo (Trinity - Fy.)
D - Annie Benedict (Tufts - Sr.) ^
D - Tiernan Cutler (Bowdoin - Fy.)
D - Elise Tarbi (Middlebury - Sr.)
GK - Lili Ferguson (Amherst - So.)
GK - Emily Weedon (Trinity - Fy.)
* - 2006 All-Conference First Team ^ - 2006 All-Conference Second Team