Amherst Places Five on All-NESCAC Team; Meg Murphy Named Player of the Year

2008 NESCAC Player of the Year Meg Murphy has earned All-Conference First Team honors in each of her three years at Amherst.
AMHERST, MA – The NESCAC announced today the members of its 2008 Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team, with Amherst junior Meg Murphy (Springfield, MA) being crowned Player of the Year to highlight the field of five Amherst honorees.

Joining Murphy on the First Team is sophomore forward Kyla Woodhouse (Topsham, ME), while senior defenders Alanna Darling (Charlton, MA) and Kate Moriarty (Westminster, MA) represent Amherst on the Second Team alongside first-year goalkeeper Allie Horwitz (Woodbridge, CT).

Murphy was selected by the NESCAC coaches as the Player of the Year for helping the Lord Jeffs post a 7-0-2 mark in conference play along with an appearance in the final of the 2008 NESCAC Championship. She is the fourth Amherst player in the last eight years to receive the league’s top honor, the most recent being Amy Armstrong ’07.

Murphy, who leads her team in scoring for the second year in a row, received First Team recognition for the third time in as many years. Through 15 games, Murphy has scored a career-high 12 goals and five assists for 29 points, nearly double the 15 points she accumulated during her NESCAC Rookie of the Year campaign in 2006.

Of Murphy’s 29 overall points, which rank second among all conference players, 21 came in league play as she led the pack with nine goals and three assists in only eight outings. For her career, Murphy has totaled 54 points on 22 goals and 10 assists.

Senior defender Kate Moriarty earned the first All-NESCAC honor of her career.
After posting three goals during her rookie season, Woodhouse has emerged as a major scoring threat for the Jeffs. Her seven goals and five assists give her 19 points, second only to Murphy on the team. Recording a point in nine of Amherst’s 16 games this season, Woodhouse has assisted on the eventual game-winning goal on three occasions, adding the game-winning score during a 3-2 overtime win against Connecticut College.

Darling earned a spot on the Second Team as a midfielder after being selected to the First Team as a defender during her sophomore and junior seasons. In 2006 and 2007, Darling’s All-Conference selections were accompanied by NSCAA/adidas All-Region First Team honors. Her goal and two assists this season give her 17 career points.

This is the first All-NESCAC selection for Moriarty, who has been a cornerstone of the Amherst defense in each of the past three years. In addition to scoring her first career goal to go along with three assists this season, Moriarty has helped lead a defense that has surrendered only 14 goals in the 14 games in which she has played. When Moriarty is on the field, the Jeffs’ goals-against average is a mere 0.95.

Rounding out Amherst’s honorees is Horwitz, who boasts the NESCAC’s second best goals-against average (0.56) and highest save percentage (.884), as she has posted two shutouts while allowing a conference-low five goals in her debut season.

Joining Murphy in earning individual honors were Michelyne Pinard of Williams and Trinity’s Jenny Ley, who were named the Coach and Rookie of the Year, respectively.

The Lord Jeffs return to action Saturday, Nov. 15 when they head to Springfield College to take on Farmingdale State in the opening round of the 2008 NCAA Tournament. Game time is set for 11 a.m.

All-NESCAC First Team
F – Brianna Wolfson – Jr. (Williams)
F – Kyla Woodhouse – So. (Amherst)
F – Gabrielle Woodson – Sr. (Williams)
M – Fanna Gamal – Jr. (Tufts)
M – Meg Murphy – Jr. (Amherst)
M – Dana Riker – Jr. (Bowdoin)
M – Sara Wild – So. (Williams)
D – Caitlin Colesanti – Sr. (Williams)
D – Anjuli Demers – Jr. (Middlebury)
D – Sarah Nolet – So. (Tufts)
GK – Lauren Sinnenberg – Jr. (Williams)
All-NESCAC Second Team
F – Ellery Gould – Fy. (Bowdoin)
F – Leigh Howard – Fy. (Trinity)
F – Jenny Ley – Fy. (Trinity)
F – Cait Parker – Sr. (Middlebury)
M – Alanna Darling – Sr. (Amherst)
M – Lindsay Rotherham – Sr. (Middlebury)
M – Taylor Stevenson – Jr. (Wesleyan)
D – Su-Lin del Guercio – So. (Colby)
D – Kara Duggan – So. (Williams)
D – Kate Moriarty – Sr. (Amherst)
GK – Allie Horwitz – Fy. (Amherst)