Three Jeffs Tabbed All-NESCAC; Brisco Named Rookie of the Year

Jackie Hirsch '11
Jill Kochanek '12
Amanda Brisco '14

AMHERST, MA – Amherst College’s Jackie Hirsch ’11 (Wilmette, IL), Jill Kochanek ’12 (Pittsburgh, PA) and Amanda Brisco ’14 (Houston, TX) have been named to this year’s NESCAC Women’s Soccer All-Conference Second Team, with Brisco also earning Rookie of the Year honors.

Hirsch, Kochanek and Brisco led Amherst to a 5-2-2 record in conference games and the No. 2 seed in the NESCAC Championship. Amherst won its quarterfinal game and hosted the final two rounds of the tournament, ultimately falling in the title match to end the season with an 8-7-2 overall record.

As one of this year’s three captains, Hirsch scored five times to end her career with 48 points on 19 goals and 10 assists, with six of those scores coming in game-winning fashion. Four of her five goals this season were against conference opponents, including one in a 3-2 win over Bowdoin in the conference quarterfinals.

Hirsch helped lead a senior class that completed its four years with an overall record of 40-20-10 (.643), including an impressive 24-5-7 (.764) mark in NESCAC games. She played a vital role in leading the Lord Jeffs to the 2008 and 2009 NCAA Tournaments, notably recording a hat trick against Springfield in the 2008 second round to help Amherst advance to the national quarterfinals.

Kochanek was the team’s lone junior selected as a captain in 2010, as she has started in 50 of the team’s 55 games since the beginning of the 2008 season. This season Kochanek led a defensive unit that earned four shutouts and finished with a goals-against average of 1.24, also chipping in on offense with one goal and three assists. One of her assists helped give the Jeffs a 2-1 lead over Bowdoin in the NESCAC quarterfinals.

Brisco was named the conference’s top first-year for leading Amherst in goals (6) and points (14), tying for seventh in the NESCAC in both categories. She was the most clutch Lord Jeff throughout the year, as 11 of her 14 points came against conference opponents and three of her goals were game winners. Notably, Brisco scored the only goal in a 1-0 win at Williams, had both tallies in a 2-0 win at Wesleyan, netted the tying goal in a 2-1 win at Bowdoin, and picked up the game winner in a 3-2 win over Bowdoin in the conference quarterfinals.

Brisco is one of only two first-years selected to this year's All-Conference Teams and is the first Lord Jeff to be named Rookie of the Year since Meg Murphy earned the honor in 2006. Sara Wild ’11 of Williams College was named the conference’s 2010 Player of the Year, while Martha Whiting earned Coach of the Year honors after leading the Jumbos to the No. 1 seed in the NESCAC Championship.

All-NESCAC First Team
F - Brett Eisenhart ’12 (Williams)
F - Ellery Gould ’12 (Bowdoin)
F - Leigh Howard ’12 (Trinity)
F - Laura Kurash ’13 (Wesleyan)
M - Kara Duggan ’11 (Williams)
M - Alix Michael ’12 (Tufts)
M - Sara Wild ’11 (Williams)
D - Tiernan Cutler ’11 (Bowdoin)
D - Su-Lin DelGuercio ’11 (Colby)
D - Sarah Nolet ’11 (Tufts)
GK - Lily Pepper ’12 (Trinity)
All-NESCAC Second Team
F - Amanda Brisco ’14 (Amherst)
F - Jackie Hirsch ’11 (Amherst)
F - Nora T. Weintraub ’11 (Middlebury)
M - Darya Battelle ’11 (Wesleyan)
M - Maika Scifo ’11 (Trinity)
M - Drew Smith ’11 (Middlebury)
D - Stevie Griglak ’13 (Trinity)
D - Jill Kochanek ’12 (Amherst)
D - Sachi Siegelman ’12 (Williams)
GK - Jayde Bennett ’13 (Colby)
GK - Kristin Wright ’14 (Tufts)