Amherst Places Three on NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team


AMHERST, MA – Amherst College senior midfielder T.J. Jackson (Haverford, PA) was named to the 2008 NESCAC Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference First Team this afternoon, while teammates Tom McDonnell (Manhasset, NY) and Chris Fitzpatrick (Fort Salonga, NY) were tabbed for the Second Team. All three players make their respective debuts on the highly competitive NESCAC postseason lists with today’s honors.

Headlining the trio is Jackson, who finished second in the conference in tallies this season with a career-high 40 goals. Jackson led the Lord Jeffs this season with a team-high 47 points, and also scooped up 53 ground balls. The 2008 season can certainly be considered a breakout year for Jackson, who had combined for 28 points in his first three seasons. Jackson finished this year in a three-way tie for the team lead in game-winning goals with two, tied for the team lead in man-up goals with four, and also scored the lone man-down goal of the year for Amherst.

Fitzpatrick, a junior tri-captain, was voted to the NESCAC’s Second Team for his high-intensity work ethic and one-on-one defending skills. A three-year contributor for the Lord Jeffs, Fitzpatrick started every game for Amherst this season, and was the team leader on defense. While often drawing the assignment of the opposition’s best attacker, Fitzpatrick was exceptional this season with 30 ground balls to go along with his first career goal.

Rounding out Amherst’s representation this season is sophomore Tom McDonnell. The second-year player also had a breakout season in 2008, scoring 39 goals and dishing out eight assists. His 47 points tie him for the team lead with Jackson and are nearly double his 28 from 2007. At 75 points through two seasons, and as Amherst’s top-returning scorer for next season, McDonnell will surely become a force to be reckoned with in the future.

The Lord Jeffs finished the season with an overall record of 8-7 after starting the year 5-0, and just barely missed qualifying for the NESCAC Championship.  


* - 2007 All-Conference First Team
^ - 2007 All-Conference Second Team


First Team
A - Grayson Connors (Wesleyan)
A - Russ Follansbee (Wesleyan) *
A - David Hawley (Williams)
M - TJ Jackson (Amherst)
M - Mike Stone (Middlebury) *
M - Michael Vrla (Williams) *
LSM - Brian Morrissey (Williams) ^
SP - Connor Wells (Trinity) *
D - James Guay (Middlebury) *
D - Spike Malangone (Wesleyan) *
D - Brian Orr (Bowdoin)
GK - Mark Moran (Conn. College)

Second Team
A - Caddy Brooks (Colby)
A - DJ Hessler (Tufts)
A - Tom McDonnell (Amherst)
M - Jim Cabrera (Middlebury) ^
M - Jesse Stevenson (Conn. College)
M - Cullen Winkler (Bowdoin)
LSM - Jordan Yarboro (Tufts) *
SP - Max Key (Bowdoin)
D - Chris Fitzpatrick (Amherst)
D - Brian Ford (Conn. College)
D - Tucker Merrigan (Tufts) *
GK - Michael Gerbush (Williams)

Player of the Year: Mike Stone (Middlebury)
Rookie of the Year: David Hawley (Williams)
Coach of the Year: George McCormack (Williams)