Three Jeffs Tabbed All-NESCAC; Acton Named Top Rookie

Contact: Justin Long

HADLEY, MA – Three Amherst College student-athletes were recognized when the NESCAC announced its 2011 Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference selections this afternoon. Evan Redwood ’12 (Lutherville, MD), Alex Fox ’12 (Garden City, NY) and Devin Acton ’14 (Sudbury, MA) were each named to the All-NESCAC Second Team, with Acton also grabbing the conference’s Rookie of the Year honor.

Evan Redwood '12
Alex Fox '12
Devin Acton '14

This is Redwood’s second All-NESCAC selection in as many years, as he landed on the First Team in 2010 after leading Amherst in assists. Elected a co-captain of this year’s squad, Redwood currently ranks fifth in the conference in assists (22), adding 19 goals to leave him tied for eighth in points (41).

As the team’s playmaker on offense, Redwood has had several standout performances in 2011, notably recording a season-high six points during wins over Eastern Connecticut, Bates and Williams. He ranks second among Amherst players in assists, third in goals and sixth in ground balls (32), giving him 98 points (49-49-98) and 106 grounders for his career. In 2010 Redwood was also named to the NEILA All-New England First Team and was a USILA All-America Honorable Mention selection.

Fox is also making a second consecutive appearance on the All-NESCAC ranks, as he was a Second Team selection after leading the Lord Jeffs in points in 2010. A standout midfielder, Fox has recorded at least one assist in 14 of the team’s 15 games this season, racking up a season-high five points in wins over Middlebury, Trinity and Connecticut College.

Fox’s 23 assists currently lead Amherst and rank fourth in the NESCAC. His 16 goals and 39 points both rank fourth on the team, leaving him 12th in the conference in points per game (2.60). A 2010 NEILA All-New England Second Team selection, Fox is close behind Redwood with 91 career points thanks to 51 goals and 40 helpers.

Acton is the first Amherst player to be named NESCAC Rookie of the Year since Derek Cherney ’07 in 2004. Acton started in all 15 games this season and recorded at least one goal in each outing. His most dominant stretch came in March when he recorded four goals and one assist against ECSU and added five goals with a helper against Bowdoin, earning him the conference’s Player of the Week honor.

Currently ranking in the top three on Amherst in goals (34, 2nd), assists (13, 3rd) and points (47, 1st), Acton has recorded more points in a single season than any NESCAC rookie in at least six years. His 34 goals rank fifth in the conference and are the most by a NESCAC first-year since Williams College’s David Hawley scored 40 in 2008. Acton is also fourth in the conference in man-up goals (6) and fifth in points per game (3.13).

This is the first time since 2008 Amherst has placed three players on the All-NESCAC ranks. Tufts led all schools this year with six selections, as the Jumbos’ DJ Hessler successfully defended his Player of the Year title. Middlebury and Connecticut College were the only other schools to earn three or more All-Conference honorees.

The Lord Jeffs (13-2) used a 13-game win streak to set a program record for victories in a season, while their 8-1 NESCAC record and No. 2 seed in the conference championship were also program bests. No Amherst team has ever qualified for the NCAA Tournament, but the Jeffs will find out if their season will continue when the selection show airs on this Sunday night.

All-NESCAC First Team
A - DJ Hessler ’11 - Tufts
A - David Hild ’11 - Middlebury
A - Sean Kirwan ’12 - Tufts
M - Andrew Conner ’11 - Middlebury
M - Kevin McCormick ’12 - Tufts  
M - Owen Smith ’11 - Bowdoin
M - Matt Witko ’11 - Tufts
LSM - Alec Bialosky ’11 - Tufts
SP - Craig Bunker ’11 - Colby
D - Theodore Bascom ’11 - Trinity
D - Clay Hillyer ’12 - Conn.
D - Matt Rayner ’12 - Middlebury
GK - Peter Johnson ’12 - Trinity
All-NESCAC Second Team
A - Devin Acton ’14 - Amherst
A - Ryan Molloy ’11 - Tufts
A - Evan Redwood ’12 - Amherst
M - Ian Deveau ’13 - Colby
M - Alex Fox ’12 - Amherst
M - Mark Mangano ’11 - Conn.
LSM - Gabe Kelley ’11 - Wesleyan
SP - Chuck Czerkawski ’12 - Conn.
SP - Corey Jacobs ’11 - Williams
D - Matthew Egan ’12 - Bowdoin
D - Kevin Helm ’12 - Bates
D - Mike Robinson ’13 - Wesleyan
GK - Ryan Deane ’11 - Middlebury
Player of the Year:
DJ Hessler ’11 (Tufts)

Rookie of the Year:
Devin Acton ’14 (Amherst)

Coach of the Year:
Michael Higgins (Trinity)