Four Amherst Players Named to NESCAC All-Conference Team


From a NESCAC Release 

AMHERST, MA – The NESCAC announced today the members of the 2008 Women’s Lacrosse All-Conference Team. Amherst College is one of only two schools to place four players on the 2008 All-NESCAC Team, as the Lord Jeffs feature three members of the All-NESCAC First Team and one member of the Second Team.

Moving up from last year’s Second Team to this year’s First Team is Amherst junior attacker Amy Craig (Denver, CO). Craig is first for Amherst and ranks fifth among all conference players in goals with 43, accumulating 51 points and 27 draw controls while starting all 16 of the Jeffs' games. Craig enters Wednesday night’s NCAA Championship first round game with 150 career points on 133 goals—13 game winners—and 17 assists. In her three years, Craig has been named the NESCAC Player of the Week three times, twice grabbing the honor this season.

At defense is a trio of individuals that received All-Conference recognition for the first time, including Amherst junior Catherine Calvert (Lawrenceville, NJ). Calvert is tied for first in the conference in ground balls with 46—nearly tripling last year’s total of 16—and is also tied for second in caused turnovers with 26—more than tripling last year’s total of 8—as she is in the midst of her best season with the Jeffs.  

Senior goalkeeper Linda McEvoy (Rochester, NY) heads up one of the NESCAC’s top defenses with a league-leading .565 save percentage and a goals against average that is second among conference netminders at 7.42. A three-year starter, McEvoy is also in the midst of her best season, as she is experiencing career highs in saves, save percentage and wins, as well as a career low in goals against average.  

Grabbing All-NESCAC Second Team honors is senior tri-captain Maddie Hoeg (Shoreham, NY). As an attacker Hoeg has tallied 29 goals and 10 assists this season, as she eclipsed the 100-point mark for her career with a three-goal performance in the Jeffs’ regular season finale. Hoeg has been a consistent contributor for Amherst, with this being the third consecutive season she has recorded at least 20 goals, 20 ground balls, 20 draw controls and 10 caused turnovers.

Craig, Calvert, McEvoy and Hoeg return to action Wednesday night when the Jeffs host Endicott College at 5 p.m. in the first round of the 2008 NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship.  


* - 2007 All-Conference First Team ^ - 2007 All-Conference Second Team

First Team
A - Amy Craig (Amherst) ^
A - Katherine Entwisle (Middlebury)
A - Becky Julian (Colby)
A - CJ Yanofsky (Trinity) *
M - Reid Berrien (Middlebury)
M - Bobbi Dennison (Bowdoin)
M - Kate Sheridan (Colby) *
D - Elizabeth Burns (Williams)  
D - Catherine Calvert (Amherst)
D - Jamie Enos (Colby)
GK - Linda McEvoy (Amherst)
GK - Michelle Smith (Trinity) *  

Second Team
A - Catie Irvine (Trinity)
A - Rachel Romanowsky (Trinity)
A - Caroline Thomas (Bates)  
M - Chrissie Attura (Tufts)
M - Lindsey Coit (Conn. College) ^  
M - Maddie Hoeg (Amherst)
M - Sarah Orkin (Wesleyan) ^
M - Amanda Roberts (Tufts)
D - Elizabeth Denver (Bates)
D - Caroline Duke (Colby)  
D - Taryn Petrelli (Middlebury)
GK - Jenna Ross (Conn. College)  
Coach of the Year:
Karen Henning (Colby)
Player of the Year:
Kate Sheridan (Colby)
Rookie of the Year:
Rachel Romanowsky (Trinity)