Andrew Olson Named Bob Cousy Award Finalist Once Again


AMHERST, MA – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, in conjunction with The Hartford, has named Amherst College senior captain Andrew Olson (San Diego, CA) as one of just two Division III finalists for the 2008 Bob Cousy Award. For the point guard, this is the second straight year he has made the field of 16 finalists.

The Bob Cousy Award is given annually to the best point guard in the college basketball, across NCAA Divisions I, II, and III. The field of finalists is dominated by Division I players, most of whom will end up playing in the NBA after graduation. For both Olson, and Division III Grinell College’s David Arsenault, making the field is an honor in itself.

“It is an honor to be mentioned in the same breath as both the other finalists and past winners,” explains Olson. “I am lucky to be on such a great team, because as a point guard, you are only as good as the players around you.”

Being named a finalist for the Cousy Award is just the latest honor in a very long line of achievements for Olson. After leading the Lord Jeffs to the program’s first national championship last season, Olson was named the National Association of Basketball Coaches National Co-Player of the Year, as well as a First-Team All-American by both the NABC and The 5’10” guard was also the New England Small College Athletic Conference Player of the Year, and a First-Team All-Conference selection.

Past winners of the award include Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s University, 2004), Raymond Felton (North Carolina, 2005), Dee Brown (Illinois, 2006) and Acie Law IV (Texas A&M, 2007), three of whom were first round NBA draft picks.

Olson and the Lord Jeffs have returned to the top of the Top-25 poll in recent weeks, and with a win this evening at Conn. College can clinch the top seed in the upcoming NESCAC Tournament. Amherst will play at Conn. at 7 p.m. this evening, with the entire country listening in as Mark Simon, and will be there for a live audio broadcast online.

Cousy Logo

As in past years, there will be both an online voting, and selection committee portion to the award process. To vote for Andrew Olson, go to, or click on the award logo to the left.