Jeffs Hold Off Plattsburgh, 3-2

Courtesy of SUNY Plattsburgh Sports Information


PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. – Netting three goals in a decisive second period, the 11th-ranked Amherst men’s hockey team held onto a hard-fought 3-2 victory over No. 8 Plattsburgh State in the championship game of the 2012 Buck Supply and Hynes Electric Cardinal Classic Tournament.

Improving to 7-3-1 on the season, the Jeffs held a 7-6 advantage in shots on goal after a scoreless first period before breaking through in the middle stanza.
Brain Safstrom ’14 opened the scoring at the 1:39 mark of the frame, lifting junior Andrew Kurlandski’s rebound over the leg of Plattsburgh goaltender Mathieu Cadieux ’14. Later on the power-play, sophomore Jake Turrin’s shot from the point found the back of the net at 7:18 to give Amherst a 2-0 lead. Adding to the tally at the tailend of the period, Cadieux made the initial stop on a shot from Conor Brown ’16, but Johnny Van Siclen ’13 jammed home the loose puck to stretch the lead three.
Hoping to mount a rally, the Cardinals had the better of the opportunities in the third period, outshooting Amherst 11-5 through the final 20 minutes of play. With less than three minutes remaining in regulation, Rich Botting ’16 picked up the puck in the neutral zone and carried it into the Plattsburgh’s offensive end before firing a shot that snuck just under the crossbar at 17:51.


Just 29 seconds later, the Cardinals pulled Cadieux for an extra skater. Throwing the puck to the front of the net, Luke Baleshta ’16 rang a shot off the inside of Amherst senior goaltender Nathan Corey’s skate and across the goal line to suddenly pull Plattsburgh within one.
Continuing to push forward in the waning moments of regulation, the Cardinals generated several more scoring chances over the final minute of play, but were unable to net the equalizer as Amherst held on to claim the Classic title.
Plattsburgh finished with a 28-21 shot advantage, going 0-for-5 on the power play, while the Jeffs went 1-for-3 with the man advantage..
Corey turned away 26 shots in the Amherst victory, while Cardieux finished with 18 saves.
Corey, Turrin and Aaron Deutsch ’15 represented Amherst on the All-Tournament Team, with Van Siclen garnering Most Valuable Player honors. Plattsburgh’s Andrew Smith ’16 and Wesleyan’s Keith Buehler were also recognized.

The Lord Jeffs return to action on Friday, Jan. 4 against Bowdoin.