Jeffs Ready For CSA Team Championships

riceYALE.jpgContact: Ben Badua



AMHERST, Mass. - The 17th-ranked Amherst women’s squash team returns to action this weekend at the 2014 College Squash Association (CSA) Team Championships hosted by Princeton University. Competing in the Walker Cup (C Division), the Jeffs will begin play with a rematch against No. 24 Colby on Friday, Feb. 21 at 12:15 p.m.

Amherst enters the competition with an unblemished 5-0 regular season mark against the Walker Cup field, with four of the eight participating programs hailing from the NESCAC. No. 18 Franklin & Marshall is the second-highest ranked team in the bracket, followed by No. 19 St. Lawrence, No. 20 Bowdoin, No. 21 Wesleyan, No. 22 Wellesley, No. 23 Mount Holyoke and No. 24 Colby.

After opening the season with a 9-0 victory over Northeastern, the Jeffs dropped a pair of matches to Yale and NESCAC rival Middlebury. Amherst rebounded by shutting out Smith (9-0) before falling to Columbia (9-0) on the first day of the Pioneer Valley Invitational. The Purple & White then split a pair of matches with Colby (W, 9-0) and Bates (7-2) before closing out tournament play by falling to George Washington (9-0) and defeating Franklin & Marshall (6-3).

Dropping a match to Brown (9-0), Amherst upended Wesleyan (7-2) before losing to Williams (8-1) in the Little Three Championships. Going 2-2 during the NESCAC Tournament, the Jeffs notched victories over Conn. College (8-1) and Bowdoin (5-4), while falling short to Williams and Hamilton. Following the Division III Invitational hosted by Bowdoin, Amherst closed out its regular season slate with a triumph over Mount Holyoke (7-2).

Coming off a stellar rookie season, Ericka Robertson ’16 rose to the top of the Jeff lineup in 2013-14. Notching a pair of first position wins, the sophomore dropped 10-straight matches before putting the brakes on the skid with a first round victory in the 32-player ‘A’ Division bracket at the Division III Invitational.

Predominately playing in the second position, Arielle Lehman ’15 has notched four wins this year in the No. 2 slot. Tallying one of those victories in an opening round NESCAC match-up against Conn. College, Lehman has dropped six in a row entering the CSA Championships. Beginning the year 2-9, Meyha Sud ’16 has turned things around over her last five dual match outings with a 4-1 record. Despite going 0-2 at the DIII Invite, Sud was 3-1 in NESCAC tournament play, helping the Jeffs to a sixth-place finish.

Seeing most of her time at the fourth position, Tiana Palmer-Poroner ’17 has made an immediate impact as a first-year, recording seven victories in 2013-14. Walking off the court triumphant in three of her last five outings, she was 2-2 during NESCAC Championship play. Also amassing seven wins on the year Evelyn Kramer ’14 is 3-4 in Amherst’s last seven dual matches. Enjoying a solid run in the DIII Invitational’s 16-person ‘B’ Division, she emerged victorious in each of her first two contests before seeing her run come to an end in the semifinals.

Thriving in the middle of the order, Khushy Aggarwal ’16 is 8-9 on the year, having compiled a 5-4 mark over her last nine at the No. 6 position. Fellow sophomore standout Taryn Clary has also enjoyed a solid season, posting a 13-6 record in the seventh spot. Staring the year 2-3, Clary is 11-3 over her last 14, winning seven in a row since Jan. 26. Posting an 8-9 ledger at No. 8, Corri Johnson ’16 is 5-4 since a Jan. 19 match-up against George Washington, while Lena Rice ’14 has turned it on of late, carrying a three-match win streak and 4-1 record over her last five at No. 9 entering this weekend’s competition.

Projected Lineup
1. Ericka Robertson
2. Arielle Lehman
3. Meyha Sud
4. Tiana Poroner-Palmer
5. Evelyn Kramer
6. Khushy Aggarwal
7. Taryn Clary
8. Corri Johnson
9. Lena Rice
(10. Izzy Derber)

Friday, Feb. 21
No. 18 Franklin & Marshall vs. No. 23 Mount Holyoke - 10 a.m.
No. 19 St. Lawrence vs. No. 22 Wellesley - 10 a.m.
No. 20 Bowdoin vs. No. 21 Wesleyan - 10 a.m.
No. 17 Amherst vs. No. 24 Colby - 12:15 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 22
Winner Amherst/Colby vs. Winner Wesleyan/Bowdoin - 9 a.m.
Winner St. Lawrence/Wellesley vs. Winner F&M/Mount Holyoke - 9 a.m.
Consolation Semifinal 1 - 9 a.m.
Consolation Semifinal 2 - 11:30 a.m.

Sunday, Feb. 23
Championship Match - 10:30 a.m.
Consolation Final - 10:30 a.m.
19/20 Playoff - 8:30 a.m.
23/24 Playoff - 10:30 a.m.