Amherst Swimming & Diving
1202 Alumni Gym
Amherst College
Amherst, MA 01002

413-542-2366 (ph)
413-542-2026 (fax)

Nine Amherst Men Combine for 29 All-NESCAC Honors

AMHERST, MA – The NESCAC announced today the 2007-08 Men’s Swimming and Diving All-Conference Team, with the top three finishers in each event at the 2008 NESCAC Men’s Swimming and Diving Championship receiving All-Conference recognition. Nine members of the Amherst squad combined to earn 29 All-NESCAC honors, as the Lord Jeffs placed third at the championship meet.

Junior Kai Robinson (Vashon, WA) and senior Connor Boyd (Northridge, CA) dominated the diving events, with Robinson finishing atop the leader board for both his 1-meter and 3-meter dives, setting a new championship standard in the 3-meter with a score of 558.65. Boyd placed second in this year’s 1-meter event behind Robinson with a score of 413.50 and third in the 3-meter event with a score of 440.80.

For a successful career at the NESCAC Championships, Boyd was named the Four-Year High Point Diver, while Robinson was an obvious choice for Diver of the Meet. Amherst diving coach Mary Ellen Clark received Diving Coach of the Year accolades.

Amherst’s 400-yard Freestyle Relay team comprised of first-year Alex Fraser (Willowbrook, IL), sophomore Tad Homchick (Mercer Island, WA), junior Christian Witzke (Jacksonville, FL) and senior Derek Prill (Paris, France) completed the event in a pool-record time of 3:04.27, while Homchick, Fraser and Witzke also teamed up with senior Andrew Maslan (Mission Hills, KS) to win the 200-yard Freestyle Relay in a NESCAC meet record time of 1:23.15.

Prill also placed in the top three in the 50-yard Breaststroke, and teamed up with Fraser, Homchick and junior Mike Waskom (Wilton, CT) to place third in the 400-yard Medley Relay. Waskom performed well in the Backstroke events, earning All-Conference honors in both the 50- and 100-yard events.

The rookie tandem of Ryan Colby (Birdsboro, PA) and Fraser had the Freestyle events covered, as the two combined to win All-NESCAC honors in each of the 100-, 200-, 500-, 1000- and 1650-yard Freestyle races, showing a good sign of things to come for Amherst. They also teamed up with Maslan and Witzke to place top three in the 800-yard Freestyle Relay, while Witzke rounded out the All-Conference nods with a top three showing in the 200-yard Freestyle.

Amherst College 2008 All-NESCAC Honorees
Connor Boyd: 1-meter Diving, 3-meter Diving

Ryan Colby: 1,000-yard Freestyle, 1,650-yard Freestyle,
800-yard Freestyle Relay

Alex Fraser: 100-yard Freestyle, 200-yard Freestyle,
500-yard Freestyle, 200-yard Freestyle Relay,
400-yard Freestyle Relay, 400-yard Medley Relay,
800-yard Freestyle Relay

Tad Homchick:
200-yard Freestyle Relay, 400-yard Freestyle Relay,
400-yard Medley Relay

Andrew Maslan: 200-yard Freestyle Relay, 800-yard Freestyle Relay

Derek Prill: 50-yard Breaststroke, 400-yard Freestyle Relay,
400-yard Medley Relay

Kai Robinson: 1-meter Diving, 3-meter Diving

Mike Waskom: 50-yard Backstroke, 100-yard Backstroke,
400-yard Medley Relay

Christian Witzke: 200-yard Freestyle, 200-yard Freestyle Relay,
400-yard Freestyle Relay, 800-yard Freestyle Relay

Diver of the Meet: Kai Robinson
Diving Coach of the Year: Mary Ellen Clark