Amherst Swimming & Diving
1202 Alumni Gym
Amherst College
Amherst, MA 01002

413-542-2366 (ph)
413-542-2026 (fax)

Swim Teams Rack up CSCAA Scholar Awards

Contact: Justin Long


AMHERST, Mass. – The Amherst College swimming & diving teams were recognized when the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) announced its Team and Individual Scholar All-America awards.

The CSCAA’s Team Scholar All-American Award is presented to colleges and universities that have achieved a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0. The Amherst men easily made the cut with a 3.35 team average, while the Lord Jeff women were even more impressive this past year at 3.44.

Several members of Amherst’s programs also earned the Individual Scholar All-American Award, which is presented to swimmers and divers who achieved a cumulative GPA of at least 3.50 and qualified for the NCAA Championships.

Representing the Amherst men on the prestigious list are Ryan Lichtenfels ’12, Colin White ’14, Nick Egan ’14, Conor Deveney ’15 and Connor Sholtis ’15. Lichtenfels was a two-time national champion during his time with the Lord Jeffs, and he closed his outstanding career with three All-America performances at the 2012 NCAA meet.

Becca Thompson ’12 and Lizzy Linsmayer ’14 represent Amherst on the women’s side, as the two standouts helped the Jeffs place 13th at this year’s national championships. Linsmayer posted a pair of All-America performances in the diving events at the NCAA meet, while Thompson wrapped up her career by scoring in two events on the final day of competition.

The CSCAA also issues an Honorable Mention Scholar All-American Award to individuals who achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or higher and recorded an NCAA “B” standard without qualifying for the NCAA Championships. Ben Grimes ’15 and Mark Idleman ’15 earned the honor for the Amherst men, while Nicole Heise ’13 and Allison Merz ’14 earned the distinction for the women’s team.

For more information, visit the CSCAA website

CSCAA Individual Scholar All-American Award
Amherst College Men
Ryan Lichtenfels '12
Colin White '14
Nick Egan '14
Conor Deveney '15
Connor Sholtis '15

Honorable Mention
Ben Grimes '15
Mark Idleman '15

Amherst College Women
Becca Thompson '12
Lizzy Linsmayer '14

Honorable Mention
Nicole Heise '13
Allison Merz '14