Association of Amherst Students (AAS)

The Association of Amherst Students is the student government that serves the Amherst College community. Our purpose is to represent the student body and be a liaison between students and administration.

Amherst Student Government

The words Association of Amherst Students in a circle around an AAS logo We, the students of Amherst College, acknowledge our responsibilities to ourselves as individuals, to the community, and to each other, and shall pursue the ideals of all without denying the ideals of one. We shall establish a community in which each individual is accepted and in which each individual participates. Promoting the free interaction and exchange of ideas, we declare our commitment to articulating student voices for advancing action and change. We shall use our collective voice to take an active role in affecting the College’s policies and priorities. In affirmation of these principles and to ensure fair representation for all Students we hereby establish the Association of Amherst Students.

Our Structure

AAS consists of three branches—legislative, judicial, and executive, as laid out in the AAS Constitution. A President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Judiciary Council Chair serve as the Executive Branch. A 33-member Student Senate makes up the Legislative Branch, comprised of 8-senators from each class and a transfer student representative. Finally, the judicial branch is comprised of the Judiciary Council, headed by the Judiciary Council Chair. Learn more about us on our Members page.

Executive Board

President: Jeremy Thomas
Vice-President: Angelina Han
Treasurer: Brooke L. Harrington
Secretary:  Noah Kim
Judiciary Chair: Sterling Kee


Judiciary Council

Kyland Smith ’21
Ben Gilsdorf ’21
Sydney Ireland ’23
Jasper Liles ’23
Alexandre Jabor ’23
Dan Gonzalez-Kosasky ’24
Héloïse Schep ’24
Lucas Romualdo ’24

2021 Senators

Bella Edo
Ben Gilsdorf
Robert Parker
Tejia Pavao
Andrea Webb
David Rosa
Rebecca Novick
Witter Swanson

2022 Senators

Basma Azzamok
Ilyssa Forman
Nicolas H. Graber-Mitchell (Cole)
Sofia Guerra
Jae Yun Ham
Alexi Lee
Courtney Resch
Jake Shapiro

2023 Senators

Fareeda Adejumo
Diego Carias
James Hulsizer
Sydney Ireland
Yvette Kiptoo
Maira Owais
Sirus Wheaton
Jalen Woodard

2024 Senators

Lori Alarcon
Blair Chase
Angelo Fodera (Alo)
Daniel Gonzalez-Kosasky
Allie Ho
Obi Okoli
Jerome Raymond
Lucas Romulado

Transfer Student Seat

Tomajin Morikawa '21

A group of students debating in a classroom

Our Focus

The AAS represents the student body and makes recommendations to the administration based on student input. The Senate is charged with distributing the student activities fee to student organizations for campus-wide events.

Johnson Chapel surrounded by green spring trees

Constitution & Bylaws

The AAS Constitution and Bylaws etablish the composition of the AAS governement and declare our commitment to articulating student voices for advancing action and change.

Suggestion Box

The AAS is interested in responding to your concerns and questions.  Please let us know what you have noticed at Amherst that you would like us to address.


Enter the characters shown in the image or use the speaker icon to get an audio version.