The AAS Senate is a 33-member elected body comprised of 8 Senators from each class at Amherst each serving one-year terms.  The Senate is charged with distributing the student activities fee to student organizations for campus-wide events.  In addition, Senators actively work to improve student life. Members of the Senate sit on many faculty and trustee committees and represent the student body's voice to the administration.  The Senate holds weekly meetings every Monday night at 8:30 in the Cole Assembly Room. Anyone is welcome to attend!

For questions, comments, or suggestions please feel more than welcome to email one of your class Senators, email, come to the weekly Senate meeting, or leave a suggestion here.

What We Do

The AAS Senate has several responsibilities:

  • Representing the student body to the faculty, administration, and community at large by serving on various committees.
  • Recognizing student clubs and organizations, and allocating the Student Activities fee to fund campus events.
  • Serving as an advocate for student interest, promoting student life initiatives, and presenting a forum for opinions and issues to be raised.

Committees - a list of the committees AAS senators serve on, along with the numbers and names of the senators on each committee.

Minutes - a comprehensive summary of the last AAS Senate meeting, as well as the minutes archive, which stretches as far back as 2008.

Resolutions - a list of resolutions written and approved by the Senate.