Updated January 31, 2020

On January 31, 2020, the Trump administration issued its Proclamation on Improving Enhanced Vetting Capabilities and Processes for Detecting Attempted Entry.  With this 4th travel ban, President Trump extends visa and entry restrictions on travelers from six additional countries: Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Mynamar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania.  Nonimmigrant visas for citizens of these countries, including international student visas, are not impacted.  The new ban becomes effective on February 21, 2020.  The third travel ban remains in effect, impacting certain citizens of Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, and Somalia. (Reference: Travel Ban: NAFSA Resources)

On Oct. 4, 2019, Amherst joined 164 other colleges and universities across the nation in an amicus brief in support of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program. Organized by the Presidents' Alliance on Immigration and Higher Education, the brief has been filed in advance of a U.S. Supreme Court case, scheduled for Nov. 12, in which the Court will hear oral arguments on a series of consolidated cases and determine whether the Department of Homeland Security’s September 2017 rescission of DACA was lawful. The brief cites an Amherst alumnus as one of many examples of current and past DACA students "whose remarkable achievements serve as a reminder of why DACA benefits students, the institutions lucky enough to have them, and the country."

On June 26, the United States Supreme Court upheld President Trump’s third travel ban.  The ban prevents certain nationals from Syria, Libya, Iran, Yemen, Somalia, North Korea, and Venezuela from entering the U.S.  We recommend that students, faculty, and staff from any of the eight countries (except those who have dual-citizenship and are traveling under a passport issued by a country other than one of the eight countries) consult with the college’s immigration attorney before traveling outside of the United States.

On April 24, a federal judge in the District of Columbia ruled in favor of Microsoft, Princeton University, and a DACA recipient in a challenge to the Trump administration’s rescission of DACA.  The decision requires the administration to accept new DACA applications, accept applications for advance parole and renew deferred status for existing DACA participants.  The judge’s decision is stayed for 90 days to allow the administration to provide a valid rationale for ending the program. 

On February 26, the U.S. Supreme Court declined a request by the Trump administration to hear an expedited appeal challenging the ruling of a federal court judge on January 9th that blocked the rescission of the DACA program. The federal court judge’s decision now awaits a ruling from the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals.

On February 26, a federal court judge in California issued a preliminary injunction ordering the Trump administration not to revoke enrollment in the DACA program without adequate notice, explanation, and an opportunity to respond.

On February 13, a federal judge in Brooklyn issued a nationwide preliminary injunction prohibiting the Trump administration from ending the DACA program. The ruling does not require the government to accept new applications and does not prevent the government from denying renewal applications on a case-by-case basis.

The White House - link to Immigration information

Immigration Enforcement

Educational, legal, regional and on-campus information and resources for undocumented and DACAmented students, and current relevant updates regarding travel bans.

Communications from President Martin