Updated Oct0ber 18, 2017

A federal judge in Hawaii issued a nation-wide temporary restraining order preventing much of President Trump’s third travel ban from taking effect on October 18, 2017.   The judge’s ruling temporarily blocks the provisions of the ban that prevent certain nationals from Syria, Libya, Iran, Yemen, Chad and Somalia from entering the U.S.  The ban remains in effect for certain nationals from North Korea and Venezuela. At this time, we recommend that students, faculty, and staff from any of the eight countries (except those who have dual-citizenship and are traveling under a passport issued by a country other than one of the eight countries) consult with the college’s immigration attorney before traveling outside of the United States.

To arrange a consultation with the college’s outside immigration counsel, please contact Hanna Bliss, Director of the Center for International Student Engagement, at 413.542.5971 or jbliss@amherst.edu

This issue is rapidly evolving, and will require our vigilance and rapid response to ensure that all members of our community are supported and protected.  We are continuing to monitor the situation and will provide updates on this page as well as announcements on the Amherst Daily Message Center.