Purpose: The US-Ireland Alliance sponsors a competitive, national scholarship for graduate study by American citizens between the ages of 18 and 30 at institutions of higher learning in Ireland. Named to honor the former U.S. Senator's pivotal contribution to the Northern Ireland peace process, the George J. Mitchell Scholarships are designed to introduce and connect generations of future American leaders to the island of Ireland, while recognizing and fostering intellectual achievement, leadership, and a commitment to public service and community. Learn more about the Mitchell from Director Jennie LaMonte on the Office of Fellowships video page.

Eligibility: Applicants must be U.S. citizens between 18 and 30 as well as graduating seniors. Applicants must exhibit superior levels of academic achievement, leadership and public service.

Award amount and conditions: The Mitchell Scholarship provides tuition, housing, living expenses and international travel in support of one year of graduate study in any discipline offered by an institution of higher learning in Ireland or Northern Ireland.

Number offered: 12 per year. Amherst can nominate as many candidates as deemed eligible.

Deadline: Preliminary applications are due in the Office of Fellowships early in September (see Deadlines and Events).  A personal statement and two letters of recommendation are part of this application.

Application materials: Preliminary application forms are available on this website in the late spring of the year you plan to apply (see How to Apply).  Please contact us for complete details and winning examples.

Mitchell Preliminary Application

Official website address: www.us-irelandalliance.org/scholarships.html

For more information:

Denise Gagnon
Director of Fellowship Advising
413-542-2536 Fax: 413-542-8555
The Office is located in
212 Converse Hall.

The mailing address is:
Office of Fellowships
Amherst College
Amherst, MA 01002

Converse Hall

Office of Fellowships
213 Converse Hall
Amherst College
Amherst, MA  01002

Fax. 413-542-8555

Denise Murphy Gagnon
Director of Fellowship Advising

Suzanne Fogel Spencer
Fellowships Coordinator