Health Information

Peer Advocates of Sexual Respect

All Amherst College policies and procedures related 
to sexual misconduct are currently under review. 
See our Sexual Respect and Title IX site for more information.

What We Do:

Meet the Peer Advocates! Join our group on facebook for news on upcoming events and other updates related to sexual respect issues around the world. http://www.facebook.com/groups/271434982894646/

As Peer Advocates of Sexual Respect, we are students who have received intensive training and on-going supervision to act as a resource referral group for students who are in need of emotional support.

We envision ourselves as a natural option for anyone questioning sexual issues ranging from the traumatic to the romantic.  As a group, prevention is important to us: we believe in addressing both the root causes of violence as well as actively seeking to help the members of the Amherst College Community build skills to create a safer community.  We believe that communication and respect are key to healthy sexual relationships and work hard to create opportunities for conversation and critical thinking on the ways society influences this idea. We are a resource to the Amherst community not just for sexual and gender based violence but also issues stemming from everyday relationship interactions. We support peers as they work through uncomfortable experiences of a sexual nature. Our group therefore provides an intentional environment for questions, concerns, and support.

We work to create an environment where people are respected by others. We promote awareness of the impact of sexual disrespect on victim/survivors and what constitutes a healthy relationship.

How To Reach Us:

Please email any of the individuals listed below.

Email us at peeradvocate @ amherst.edu  

Emergencies:

If you have been sexually assaulted and are in need of emergency police assistance, please call the campus police emergency number at (413) 542-2111. A thorough description of services and options provided by campus police can be found on their website.

For medical assistance, contact University Health Services at (413) 577-5000 or Cooley Dickinson Hospital at (413) 582-2000. Both facilities have access to Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners.

 

Who We Are:

 

 

Christine Miranda

cmiranda15@amherst.edu

Claire Castellano

ccastellano16@amherst.edu

Hannah Gross

hgross14@amherst.edu

Noel Grisanti

agrisanti17@amherst.edu

Jackie Cosse

jcosse14@amherst.edu

Kelsey Sommers

ksommers14@amherst.edu

Bonnie Drake 17

bdrake17@amherst.edu

Raizel DeWitt

cdewitt16@amherst.edu

Leilani Webb

lwebb14@amherst.edu

Malena Gatti

mgatti14@amherst.edu

Rose Miller

rhmiller16@amherst.edu

Nneka Ugwu

nugwu16@amherst.edu

James Hildebrand

jhildebrand15@amherst.edu

Kyra Ellis-Moore

kellismoore15@amherst.edu

Margaret Bogardus

mbogardus15@amherst.edu

Katie Reilly

kreilly16@amherst.edu

Trina Fanfant

tfanfant15@amherst.edu

Amanda Collings Vann (Advisor)

avann@amherst.edu

AttachmentSize
PA Application 2012.doc50 KB