Health Information

Peer Advocates of Sexual Respect

All Amherst College policies and procedures related 
to sexual misconduct are currently under review. 
See our Sexual Respect and Title IX site for more information.

What We Do:

Meet the Peer Advocates! Like us on Facebook for news on upcoming events and other updates related to sexual respect issues around the world.

As Peer Advocates of Sexual Respect, we are students who have received intensive training and on-going supervision to act as a resource referral group for students who are in need of emotional support.

We envision ourselves as a natural option for anyone questioning sexual issues ranging from the traumatic to the romantic.  As a group, prevention is important to us: we believe in addressing both the root causes of violence as well as actively seeking to help the members of the Amherst College Community build skills to create a safer community.  We believe that communication and respect are key to healthy sexual relationships and work hard to create opportunities for conversation and critical thinking on the ways society influences this idea. We are a resource to the Amherst community not just for sexual and gender based violence but also issues stemming from everyday relationship interactions. We support peers as they work through uncomfortable experiences of a sexual nature. Our group therefore provides an intentional environment for questions, concerns, and support.

We work to create an environment where people are respected by others. We promote awareness of the impact of sexual disrespect on victim/survivors and what constitutes a healthy relationship.

How To Reach Us:

Please email any of the individuals listed below.

Email us at peeradvocate @ amherst.edu  

Emergencies:

If you have been sexually assaulted and are in need of emergency police assistance, please call the campus police emergency number at (413) 542-2111. A thorough description of services and options provided by campus police can be found on their website.

For medical assistance, contact University Health Services at (413) 577-5000 or Cooley Dickinson Hospital at (413) 582-2000. Both facilities have access to Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners.

Who We Are:

Peer Advocates of Sexual Respect

Margaret Bogardus
mbogardus15@amherst.edu
 
Claire Castellano
ccastellano16@amherst.edu
 
Bonnie Drake 17
bdrake17@amherst.edu
 
Raizel DeWitt
cdewitt16@amherst.edu
 
Kyra Ellis-Moore
kellismoore15@amherst.edu
 
Nouraiz Falik
nfalik18@amherst.edu
 
Trina Fanfant
tfanfant15@amherst.edu
 
Noel Grisanti
agrisanti17@amherst.edu
 
James Hildebrand
jhildebrand15@amherst.edu
 
Karen Odidika
kodidika17@amherst.edu
 
Andrea Quiles-Sanchez
aquilessanchez18@amherst.edu
 
Katie Reilly
kreilly16@amherst.edu
 
Gabriella Rodriguez
gaarodriguez17@amherst.edu
 
Nneka Ugwu
nugwu16@amherst.edu
 
Ralph Washington
rwashington16@amherst.edu
 
 

Advisor:

Amanda Collings Vann 

Sexual Respect Educator

avann@amherst.edu

 

 

Sexual_respect_is

If You Need to Talk to Someone

The University of Massachusetts Center for Women & Community provides confidential rape crisis counseling to men and women, 24 hours a day, at (413) 545-0800.

 


See the Sexual Respect and Title IX website for additional contacts and more information.