Mission Statement

Submitted by Nayah N. Mullings on Tuesday, 2/9/2016, at 2:21 PM

The African and Caribbean Students’ Union (ACSU) of Amherst College fosters, analyzes and celebrates African and Caribbean cultural and political identities. ACSU educates and empowers the Amherst community by raising awareness about Africa and the Caribbean in order to dispel stereotypes and instill cultural pride in students of African and/or Caribbean descent. Thereby, ACSU equips every member with the confidence and knowledge they need to generate socioeconomic progress and prosperity for African and Caribbean people.

Executive Board - Spring 2016

Submitted by Nayah N. Mullings on Tuesday, 2/9/2016, at 11:37 AM

Club Email Address: africancaribbean@amherst.edu 

Senior Chair:
Nayah Mullings '17 (nmullings17@amherst.edu)
Junior Chair: Mohammed Ibrahim '17 (mibrahim17@amherst.edu)
Secretary: Irisdelia Garcia '18 (imgarcia18@amherst.edu)
Treasurer: Princess Adedoyin '19 (padedoyin19@amherst.edu)
Africa Chair: Mohamed Hussein '18 (mhussein18@amherst.edu)
Caribbean Chair: Mahalia Banton '19 (mbanton19@amherst.edu)
Social & Media Rep: Amal Buford '19 (abuford19@amherst.edu)
Intercollegiate Rep: Matthew Holliday '19 (mholliday19@amherst.edu)

ACSU Logo

AttachmentSize
ACSU Logo46.2 KB

Meetings & Events

Submitted by Nayah N. Mullings on Tuesday, 2/9/2016, at 2:29 PM

Meetings:
ACSU meets every Wednesday at 8:00PM in the Multicultural Resource Center. Discussions focus around the issues, experiences, and identities of African and Caribbean peoples, and people of African and/or Caribbean descent. All who respect the intersectional identities of the groups we aim to uplift are welcome to join in for meetings, it's never too late to join the ACSU family!

Events:
ACSU plans events every semester to bring African and Caribbean cultures into our community. This semester, ACSU is attending the Harvard Africa Business Conference at Harvard Business School from February 26th through the 28th. We are also excited to announce the 4th Annual Wave Your Flag Weekend will be held from April 8th through 10th 2016! Wave Your FLag includes a dinner with performances on Friday night, a carnival on Saturday afternon, a party Saturday night and a study session on Sunday! More information will be available closer to the dates!

If you want updates about ACSU meetings and events, send an email to africancaribbean@amherst.edu to join our listserv. 

ACSU Dance Company

Submitted by Nayah N. Mullings on Tuesday, 2/9/2016, at 3:02 PM

It just wouldn't be ACSU without dance! Music, movement and dance are integral parts to most African and Caribbean cultures and societies, and ACSU is proud to have ACSU Dance as a space to celebrate our heritage. ACSU Dance does not hold auditions, and is based on interest and commitment rather than dance experience. Furthermore, anyone is welcome to join ACSU Dance regardless of race, ethnicity, heritage, religion, sexual identity, sex, gender and gender identity, ability, socioeconomic status, national origin, immigration status and/or political affiliation. If you love to move to African and Caribbean music or want to learn how, please join us!

Management:
Manager: Darienne Madlala '16
Founder & Choreographer: Sheila Chukwulozie '17E
Choreographer: Daniella Bennett '17

If you want to join or have any business/performance inquiries, please contact acsudc@gmail.com