Religious Life

Religious Holidays

2013

Tue, Jan 1, 2013

Sun, Feb 10, 2013

Sun, Mar 31, 2013

Tue, Apr 2, 2013

Sat, Apr 13, 2013

Sun, Apr 21, 2013

Mon, Apr 29, 2013

Wed, May 1, 2013

Thu, May 2, 2013

Wed, May 15, 2013

Thu, May 23, 2013

Sat, May 25, 2013

Wed, May 29, 2013

Wed, Sep 4, 2013

Fri, Sep 13, 2013

Wed, Sep 18, 2013

Wed, Sep 25, 2013

Thu, Sep 26, 2013

Sun, Oct 13, 2013

Mon, Oct 14, 2013

Sun, Oct 20, 2013

Thu, Oct 31, 2013

Fri, Nov 1, 2013

Sun, Nov 3, 2013

Tue, Nov 12, 2013

Sun, Nov 17, 2013

Wed, Nov 27, 2013

Sun, Dec 1, 2013

Mon, Dec 9, 2013

Wed, Dec 25, 2013

Thu, Dec 26, 2013

Letter to the College Community

Dear Faculty, Staff, Students and Administrators,

The College’s commitment to establishing a diverse community with people “from all backgrounds” includes religious differences. The Student Handbook includes a “Policy on Observance of Religious Holidays” that says the following: "Amherst College respects the rights of all members of the community to observe religious holidays.  It is expected that everyone will cooperate in making this right a real one.  Students and faculty, in particular, should seek ways of achieving this goal, while at the same time minimizing interruptions of the academic work of the College" (p. 98). Major religious holidays for various traditions during the 2013/2014 academic year are indicated for each month. 

Our hope is that having these dates will help you to anticipate when some students may have special needs with regard to examination, presentations, and assignments. 

If you have any questions, please contact the appropriate religious advisor.  The entire religious life staff can be found at the religious life staff web site. For the sake of brevity, the holidays listed are those that we know represent our community.

We wish you the best as the new semester begins.

Sincerely,

The Rev. Dr. Paul Sorrentino, Director of Religious Life