The Ad Hoc Amherst College Wildlife Sanctuary Stewardship Committee is composed of three members of the faculty, the chief of campus operations, the grounds supervisor and a designated representative, three other staff members, and three students. The faculty members of the committee are appointed by the Committee of Six and serve for three-year terms.  The senior staff appoints the staff members, who shall include one representative from the Office of Student Affairs or the resource centers, one representative from Athletics and Wellness, and the director of the Book and Plow Farm and serve three-year terms. The three student members of the committee are appointed by the Association of Amherst Students each year. The committee, which is charged with the long-term oversight and management of the sanctuary, recommends priorities and policies; oversees academic, research, and other uses of the sanctuary; and acts as a steward for the sanctuary’s wildlife and habitats and for the inclusive use of this space. The committee may be advised by other members of Facilities and Grounds, the conservation director (current or former) of the town of Amherst and other consultants. The ad hoc committee will remain active until the completion of the Mammoth Trails project and will then disband.  


  • Kenny Lauzier, Supervisor of Building and Grounds
  • Kate Sims, Economics and Environmental Studies
  • Ralph Johnson, Executive Director of Campus Operations
  • Weston Dripps, Sustainability Director
  • Rebecca Kennedy, CASE Office
  • Maida Ives, Book and Plow Farm
  • Mark Uchneat, Assistant Supervisor of Grounds
  • Dwight Carey, Architectural Studies and the History of Art
  • Ethan Temeles, Biology and Environmental Studies
  • Sam  Morse, Asian Languages and Civilizations, Art and the History of Art
  • Dean Gendron, Senior Associate Dean of Students
  • Hannah Chappell-Dick, Head Coach Cross Country
  • Student Members appointed by AAS