Help

How to set page permissions

For a detailed explanation about how permissions work on the website see All About Permissions.

To change the permissions on a page, go to the page and click on the Settings tab at top.  If you don't have a Settings tab, then you don't have sufficient permission to change permissions.

On the Settings page there will be a Permissions section.

There are four levels of permissions.  Anyone given a certain level of permission automatically has all the lower levels which is why on the highest level check mark is highlighted.  Permissions are set by checking (or unchecking) the appropriate box.

  1. Delete/change settings.  This permission gives a person access to the settings page.  It includes the ability to delete, copy or move the page. 
  2. Append sub-pages.  Someone with this permission can append new sub-pages to the current page. 
  3. Add content.  This allows a person to add content to the page.  They do not have the permission to edit or delete content added by another user.  This is the setting if the desire is to allow users on a group project to each contribute to the page.
  4. Read.  This is the lowest level and only grants the person the right to read the page.  Note that some types of content, such as dropbox and gradebooks have additional restrictions to what the user can see.  However, without this permission the user wouldn't see anything.

It is important to remember that if a user doesn't have read permission on a page, they can't see any sub-pages, no matter what the permission on those pages is.  Therefore, if you want to block access to a complex group of pages all under a single high level page, you only need to set the permissions on the top page.  It does not work the other way.  Giving someone permission to add content to a page doesn't give grant that permission on sub-pages.

Brand new pages will normally inherit the permissions of their parent page.

Everyone

"Everyone" permission determines the permissions granted to anybody who isn't explicitly granted permissions elsewhere.

Individuals

"Individual" permissions are granted by name.  Persons who have personal privileges are show in the display. You can change their permissions by checking or unchecking the boxes, or remove all their privileges by deleting the entry.

If you want to specify permissions to a group of individuals, you may want to try using the Groups option (below) first to see if there is already a predefined group.  Alternatively, if you find that you're giving permission to the same group of individuals over and over again, contact the IT department about having a group defined.

To give a permissions to a new individual, click the add button at the bottom of the individuals display to bring up the user selection window.

Type the name of person you want to give permissions to in the Add a user box.  As you type a display will appear showing all persons who match what you've typed in.  As you type more, the list will get shorter.  At any time you can click on a name on the list to select that individual.  You can add as many people as you want to at one time. Once all the names are in the box, click on the Add users to permissions.

When you close the  user selection window, you'll need to check the permissions for the individuals you've added and reset them from the default values if appropriate.

Groups

"Groups" permissions allow you to assign permissions to a defined collection of individuals.  A large number of groups are defined by the system. The display shows the groups that have permission.  You can change the permission available to the groups or, by deleting the group, remove all permissions from that group.

To grant permissions to a group not already listed, click on the add button at the bottom of the groups list.  This will bring up the group selection interface,

You expand (or contract) the group tree by clicking on the icon in front of the folder icon.  To select a group, first click on the name of the group on the left side and then on the Select button on the right.  In this example, we're about to select a group containing all the students in AMST 12, section 1 for Spring '11.  The students name will be displayed on the right.

For faculty members, there will be an additional My Courses button along the top.  This contains a fly-out short cut to all the groups associated with the courses they are teaching.

The Last Location button will take the you back to the last group you selected.  This makes it simple to select resulted groups.  For example, if after selecting all the students in AMST-12-1, you want to select all the TAs for the same section, you would click on Last Location and then select the group one below where you were.

You also create a bookmark list of groups you select often.  To do this, go to the group and then select the Bookmark link on the right.  Then clicking on the Bookmark button at the top will give you a list of all the groups you've bookmarked.

Once you made all the permission changes that you want to make, remember to click on the Save Settings button on the bottom of the Settings page.

Tags: