193rd Commencement

May 25, 2014 - 10:00 am to 12:30 pm (already occurred)

Addresses by President Carolyn “Biddy” Martin and Katherine Sisk ’14. Marshal: Professor Wako Tawa. Honorary Marshal: Carolyn Pruyne. Medal for Eminent Service: Douglas C. Grissom ’89. Student Marshals: Matthew DeButts ’14, Boyeoluwatito Fakoya ’14 and Nica Siegel ’14. Phebe and Zephaniah Swift Moore Teaching Awards: Allyson Eaton, an English teacher from R.L. Paschal High School in Fort Worth, Texas, nominated by Daniel Carrizales ’14; Erick Hueck, a chemistry teacher from Miami Senior High School in Miami, Fla., nominated by Catherine Amaya ’14; and Donald Pietroski, a mathematics teacher from Oceanside High School in Rockland, Maine, nominated by Hayli Kinney ’14. The canes for each graduating senior are a gift from the Fund for Conway Canes, endowed by Brian J. Conway ’80 and Kevin J. Conway ’80.

Note: When Commencement is outdoors, seating is unlimited, and no tickets are required. If severe weather forces Commencement indoors, the event will be held in LeFrak Gymnasium, where seating is limited to ticket holders. Each graduating senior may pick up three tickets for family or other guests on Friday or Saturday at Commencement Headquarters in Alumni House. Guests without tickets may watch a video simulcast of the event in Coolidge Cage, next to LeFrak. To learn the location of Sunday’s Commencement ceremony, call 413-542-INFO (4636) or go to www.amherst.edu after 8 a.m. on Sunday.

Some audience members may have particular health or safety concerns that necessitate their sitting indoors rather than outdoors to watch the Commencement ceremony. For such cases, there is limited seating available in Stirn Auditorium, where live video of the ceremony will be projected onto a large screen. (Seating will be available in Stirn only if the ceremony is taking place outdoors. If the ceremony has been moved to LeFrak Gymnasium because of inclement weather, all audience members will watch from within the gymnasium or Coolidge Cage.)

Contact Info

Patricia Allen
(413) 542-8094
image of e-mail address@amherst.edu