The Conferences and Special Events Department plans and implements major events like Commencement and Convocation and high-profile speakers for Amherst College. The events office also handles multi-day, multi-speaker events, visiting faculty speakers, symposiums, colloquiums, seasonal festivals and the Pindar Field Student Dinner Series. The staff of the events office coordinate summer programs hosted by Amherst College. Campus room reservations for non-academic hours and use of the Alumni House and Johnson Chapel can be booked through the events office.

The Office of Alumni and Parent Programs plan Family Weekend, Homecoming and Reunion events and can be contacted at alumni@amherst.edu.


Department of Conferences and Special Events Staff

Patricia M. Allen, director of conferences and special events can be reached at pmallen@amherst.edu, or 413/542-8094 and handles queries on Commencement, Convocation, major speakers, seasonal festivals and student dinners.

Davis Bannister, events assistant, can be reached at dbannister@amherst.edu or 413/542-5728 and is the contact for the College events calendar.

Austin Huot, associate director of conferences and special events can be reached at ahuot@amherst.edu, or 413/542-8102. Austin oversees summer programs at Amherst College and the Event Management System (EMS) software for room reservations for the College.

Paula Mieczkowski, room reservations manager, is the contact to book the Alumni House and Johnson Chapel and all campus space for all non-academic hours. She can be reached at pamieczkowski@amherst.edu or 413/542-8269.

Victoria Nardone, events assistant, can be reached at vnardone@amherst.edu, or 413/542-2232 and works directly with Commencement special projects.

 

Planning An Event?

Whether you’re inviting a lecturer to campus, organizing an extended conference, or planning a student-related or other event, see our Event Planning page for information on whom to contact, how to reserve a space and more.

Share