2009 Honorands

2009 Honorands
Honorary Degree Recipients

Read about the honorands in Amherst’s news release, “Musician Leon Fleisher, PayPal Founder Elon Musk, Artist Frank Stella Among Eight to Be Honored at Amherst College Commencement.”

Listen to Conversations with Honored Guests, talks given by the honorary degree recipients.

Read the honorary degree citations:

Medal for Eminent Service

See news release, “Frank Stevenson II ’77 To Receive Medal for Eminent Service,” and citation.

Phebe and Zephaniah Swift Moore Teaching Awards for 2009

Three secondary school instructors who challenged, inspired and moved members of Amherst College’s Class of 2009 will be honored with the Phebe and Zephaniah Swift Moore Teaching Awards at commencement. This year’s recipients are L. Addison Diehl from Bel Air High School in El Paso, Texas and Stratford High School in Nashville, Tenn.; Lawrence Forberg from Riverside Brookfield High School in Riverside, Ill.; and Kay Tipton from Vestavia Hills High School in Birmingham, Ala. See news release, “Amherst College to Honor Three Former Teachers of Graduating Seniors with Swift Moore Teaching Awards.”

Honorary Class Members of the Class of 2009

The honorary members of the Class of 2009 include Linda Celi from the Theater and Dance Department; Don Kells from the Post Office; Gretchen Krull from Health Services; Ben Lieber from the Dean of Student’s Office; Deborah Omasta-Mokrzecki from Dining Services; Manu Mukasa from Theater and Dance; and Paul Thornton from the Facilities Department. Each year, graduating students nominate faculty, staff and others who have made a difference in the lives of the Class over the last four years. The nominations show appreciation for their contributions to the Amherst community.