Honorary Degree Recipients

Read about the 2011 honorees in Amherst’s news release.

audio Listen to Conversations with Honored Guests, talks given by the honorary degree recipients.

Watch video of the honors being awarded during the Commencement ceremony.

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

Read the honorary degree citations:

Medal for Eminent Service

Arthur W. Koenig ’66 received the Medal for Eminent Service. The award is presented to a member of the Amherst community who has demonstrated extraordinary devotion to the college. Read news release and citation.

Former Students Who Served in World War II

Richard Hunter ’44, J. Bruce Duncan ’45, Frank R.L. Egloff ’46 and C. Burns Roehrig ’45 would have graduated from Amherst College more than 65 years ago, had not World War II intervened. On May 22, at its 190th Commencement exercises, the college awarded honorary bachelor’s degrees to these former students who left the college to serve their country in the military. Read more in Amherst’s news release.

Phebe and Zephaniah Swift Moore Teaching Awards

Three secondary school instructors who challenged, inspired and moved members of Amherst College’s Class of 2011 were honored with the Phebe and Zephaniah Swift Moore Teaching Awards. This year’s recipients included Clark Ginapp, an English teacher formerly of Holyoke High School in Holyoke, Colo.; Robert Hepner, a math teacher at Melvindale High School in Melvindale, Mich.; and Linda Linville, a retired history teacher and International Baccalaureate coordinator for Centennial High School in Corona, Calif. Read more in Amherst’s news release.

Honorary Class Members of the Class of 2011

The honorary members of the Class of 2011 are Eric Baldwin, David Cetto, Professor Stephen A. George, Kathy Jekanowski, Don Kells, Anthony W. Marx, Jordan Moore-Fields and Officer Cara Sullivan. Each year, graduating students nominate faculty, staff and others who have made a difference in the lives of the Class over the last four years. The nominations show appreciation for their contributions to the Amherst community.