Honorary Degree Recipients

Read about the 2012 honorees in Amherst’s news release.

audio Listen to Conversations with Honored Guests, talks given by the honorary degree recipients.

Read the honorary degree citations:

Watch the honorees receiving their degrees from President Biddy Martin:

Loading the player...
Medal for Eminent Service

George W. Carmany III ’62 received the Medal for Eminent Service. The award is presented to a member of the Amherst community who has demonstrated extraordinary devotion to the college. Read Amherst’s news release and citation.

Phebe and Zephaniah Swift Moore Teaching Awards

Three secondary school instructors who challenged, inspired and moved members of Amherst College’s Class of 2012 were honored with the Phebe and Zephaniah Swift Moore Teaching Awards. This year’s recipients were Alexis Dekel, a math teacher at Berkshire Arts & Technology Charter Public School in Adams, Mass.; Jacson Lowe, a psychology teacher and baseball coach at Cedar Ridge High School in Hillsborough, N.C.; and Eyal Wallenberg, a math teacher at The Urban Assembly School for Law & Justice in Brooklyn, N.Y. Read more in Amherst’s news release.

Honorary Class Members of the Class of 2012

The honorary members of the Class of 2012 are Mallorie Chernin, Douglas Fuller, David P. Fydenkevez, Don Kells, Samuel Masinter, Zaweeda Sahabdeen, Cara Sullivan, Lourdes “Luly” Torres and Stan Zieja. Each year, graduating students nominate faculty, staff and others who have made a difference in the lives of the Class over the last four years. The nominations show appreciation for their contributions to the Amherst community.