2014 Honorary Degrees and Awards

Loading the player...

Political and cultural commentator David Brooks, Olympic gold medal-winning swimmer Cullen Jones, tech entrepreneur Thai-Hi Lee ’80, statistician and writer Nate Silver, contemporary artist Sarah Sze, the late American studies scholar and transportation expert Yasuo Sakakibara and former Amherst College Board of Trustees chair and businessman Jide Zeitlin ’85 all received honorary degrees from Amherst College during its 193rd Commencement exercises on Sunday, May 25, 2014.

Read the 2014 honorary degree citations:

2014 Medal for Eminent Service

Douglas Grissom ’89 received the Medal for Eminent Service. The award is presented to members of the Amherst community who have demonstrated extraordinary devotion to the college. Read the citation and learn more in Amherst’s news release.

Honorary Class Members, 2014
Class of 2014 Honorary Class Members

The Class of 2014 elected the following Amherst College staff members to be honorary classmates, and honored them at Senior Assembly:

  • Leykia D. Brill, Admission
  • Tony D. Esposito, Dining Services
  • Don Kells, Post Office
  • Theresa Ryan, Campus Police
  • Lourdes “Luly” Torres, Campus Police

2014 Swift Moore Teaching Award Recipients

Three secondary-school instructors who challenged, inspired and moved members of Amherst College's Class of 2014 will be honored with the Phebe and Zephaniah Swift Moore Teaching Award. This year’s recipients include:

  • Allyson Eaton, an English teacher from R.L. Paschal High School in Fort Worth, Texas
  • Erick Hueck, a chemistry teacher from Miami Senior High School in Miami, Fla.
  • Donald Pietroski, a mathematics teacher from Oceanside High School in Rockland, Maine