2018 Commencement Honorees

May 20, 2018

Watch this year’s honorees receive their degrees and awards from President Biddy Martin.

2018 Honorary Degrees

Six influential leaders in the fields of literature and feminism, political theory, civil rights advocacy, environmental security, art history and epidemiology and children’s health will receive honorary degrees from Amherst College during its 197th Commencement exercises on Sunday, May 20.

Read the honorary degree citations:

2018 Medal for Eminent Service

Peter A. Nadosy P’01 received the Medal for Eminent Service. The award is presented to members of the Amherst community who have demonstrated extraordinary devotion to the college.

2018 Swift Moore Teaching Awards

Each year at Commencement, Amherst College presents the Phebe and Zephaniah Swift Moore Teaching Awards to three outstanding secondary school teachers who challenged, inspired and moved members of the graduating class. The awards are named for the first president of the College and his wife. Amherst has presented the awards since 1997. This year’s recipients are:

  • Jeffrey D. Cramer for his work as a physics teacher at Henry W. Grady High School in Atlanta, Georgia. Nominated by Elias (Eli) Mansbach ’18.
  • Charles Frankenbach III for his work as an English teacher at The Hotchkiss School in Lakeville, Connecticut. Nominated by Irisdelia (Iris) Garcia ’18.
  • Barbara A. Gribbins-Krollage for her work as an English teacher at West Islip High School in West Islip, New York. Nominated by Scott Nelson ’18.

Class of 2018 Honorary Class Members

The Class of 2018 elected the following Amherst College staff members to be honorary classmates, and honored them at Senior Assembly:

  • Eric Baldwin, Custodial Services
  • Alyssa Pawlowski, Health Services
  • Dorlinda Puente, Schwemm’s Coffee House
  • Will Roberts, Amherst College Police
  • Valena Rutkowski, Frost Cafe
  • Christopher Wardlaw, Grab-N-Go