Navigation

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

End-of-Year Extended College Closure Dates

As noted in a message from Biddy, the College will shut down the week of December 27, 2021. The result is an additional four days of paid time off (Monday, December 27, through Thursday, December 30) for staff, plus the previously scheduled holidays on Friday, December 24, and Friday, December 31. While the previous week, December 20-23, will remain a work week, we are encouraging those who wish to have a longer break, or who must work during the shutdown, to use their accrued time off then. As always, staff should consult with their supervisor/department chair for scheduling approval.

Although we will minimize the need for work during the shutdown, staff members who must work then—for one-time needs like Workday and preparation for “J-term,” plus essential staff in dining, custodial services, and other areas—will receive closure pay, which is equal to (2x) pay for non-exempt hourly employees and equivalent time off for exempt employees. Supervisors will work with those impacted to make alternative arrangements.

Amherst College Holiday Schedule


FLOATING HOLIDAYS

Regular, full-time staff are entitled to 4.5 floating holidays per fiscal year. New employees earn floating holidays in their first fiscal year of employment on a pro-rated basis. Floating holidays are also prorated for employees working an academic year and/or part-time. The selection of the dates of floating holidays by the employee is subject to the approval of the Supervisor or Department Head/Chair. There is no payment for floating holidays not taken, nor do they accumulate from one fiscal year to the next.

For information about religious holidays, please visit the Religious Life page.


2021

Fri, Jan 1, 2021

New Year's Day

Mon, Jan 18, 2021

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Mon, May 31, 2021

Memorial Day

Mon, Jul 5, 2021

Independence Day

Mon, Sep 6, 2021

Wed, Nov 24, 2021

Thanksgiving - Half Day

Thu, Nov 25, 2021

Thanksgiving

Fri, Nov 26, 2021

Thanksgiving

Fri, Dec 24, 2021

Fri, Dec 31, 2021