Students and faculty have the ability to transfer their email and Google Drive contents from their Amherst GMail accounts to another GMail account at any time up until their email is turned off several months after graduation. Staff who wish to use this function must contact AskIT.

You can only transfer account contents to another GMail account, so before you begin you must have established a personal GMail account. Also, don't try this from a phone--use a computer.

Managing Multiple Google Accounts

The College supplies all students, faculty, and staff with a Google Apps for Education account, which uses you Amherst email address as your username. Many people also have personal Google accounts which can lead to questions about exactly which account you are in at any one moment. This article explains how to juggle multiple Google accounts.

Access a Department, Lab, Club, College or Student Organization Email Account

If your department, laboratory, student or College organization email account is an IT Support Services managed account, once you are given permission for the account, access it by using your web browser. See our instructions below.

If you are not sure what kind of email account you have, contact the IT Help Desk and we will let you know.

Email and Calendaring

Amherst students and faculty and staff employees receive an Amherst email mailbox when they join the College. Faculty and staff employees who depart college employment lose access to their email mailboxes on their termination date. Students lost access to their college mailbox about six months after they graduate. Emeriti retain access to their Amherst mailboxes. In some cases non-employee members of the college will be provided mailboxes for specific time periods, for example visiting scholars or post baccalaureates with a start and end date of association with the college community can be provided mailboxes.

The College's email service is Gmail and is provided as part of Google G Suite. Gmail provides email, calendar, contacts, etc. Your messages and other data remain in the GMail system until you explicitly delete them.

Gmail is accessible via any web browser (Chrome is preferred) and via apps on iOS and Android devices.