Herd of the Year. Three Mammoths walk together across the Holyoke Range, carrying flags emblazoned with the Amherst A

The Herd of the Year Award

What is it?

The Herd of the Year Award recognizes at least one group of staff members who have made significant collaborative contributions to our campus community as determined by the Recognition Awards Committee (including members of senior staff, faculty, supervisors and staff appointed biennially).

Who can receive it?

Any team may be nominated, provided they sufficiently demonstrate the behaviors listed in the Criteria section. Eligible teams cannot win a Herd of the Year Award more than once in a five-year period.

A team is defined as a group of more than one staff member, including casuals, aligned by departmental, divisional or special initiative/project responsibility, who are active at the time of the awards presentation. Teams can also be cross-functional formal committees and groups. The Recognition Awards Committee will review group composition to determine if it meets the definition of a team.

At least one Herd of the Year Award will be given annually, and more than one team may be recognized in a given year, at the discretion of the Recognition Award Committee.

What is the timing?

Nominations may be submitted through Friday, April 29, 2022.

What does the team get?

A special award or gift. In addition, recipients will be featured in a range of other internal communications and announcements unless they opt out of public recognition. To opt out of public recognition for any components of this program, a staff member may contact the Office of Human Resources at (413) 542–2372 or recognition@amherst.edu


Teams that work collaboratively toward achieving College, divisional, or departmental goals, objectives, or strategic College initiatives may be considered for this award.

Eligible teams may exhibit behaviors such as:

  • Improving the operation of the campus
  • Contributing to an important decision within the department, division, or College
  • Cooperatively working across divisions or departments
  • Working collaboratively and positively to address a core need of the College


Teams of staff members who exhibit behaviors in any of the areas outlined above should be nominated by staff, faculty, students, alumni and/or trustees. Here’s how the process works:

  1. A member of the Amherst community completes a nomination form.
  2. The Recognition Awards Committee (including members of senior staff, faculty, supervisors and staff appointed biennially) reviews all nominations, follows up with any questions that may arise about the nominee, solicits input from supervisors/chairs and selects the award recipients.
    • The members of the Recognition Awards Committee for 2022 are:
      • Jon Doyle, Technical Director/Production Coordinator
      • Susan Kimball, Head of Access Services
      • Sarah Mattison Buhl, Science Center Programs Coordinator
      • Matt McGann, Dean of Admission and Financial Aid
      • Karen Sanchez-Eppler, L. Stanton Williams 1941 Professor of American Studies and English
      • Emily Tareila, Assistant Director for Internship Programs
      • Rocky Wood, Assistant Director of Workforce Equity and Inclusive Leadership
  3.  Awardees are formally announced and are celebrated.