Amherst College to Honor Three Former Teachers of Graduating Seniors with Swift Moore Teaching Awards May 24

May 7, 2009        
AMHERST, Mass. — Three secondary school instructors who challenged, inspired and moved members of Amherst College’s Class of 2009 will be honored with the Phebe and Zephaniah Swift Moore Teaching Awards during the school’s 188th Commencement exercises at 10 a.m. on Sunday, May 24.

The Forest Ahead

How Good We've Had It


imageSeated, from left: Thomas M. Davis III '71, Elon Musk, Peter Brown, Margaret Bangser '81, Leon Fleisher, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala and Frank Stella. Top row, from left: Andrew R. Marks '76, President Anthony W. Marx, Faculty Marshall Rowland Abiodun, Frank E. Stevenson II '77 and Honorary Marshal Douglas C. Neff '70.The following distinguished guests were honored during Commencement Weekend 2009.

The Wide Open

Frank E. Stevenson ’77

Frank Stella

Frank Stella
Doctor of Humane Letters

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

Elon Musk

Elon Musk
Doctor of Humane Letters

Andrew R. Marks ’76

Andrew R. Marks 76
Doctor of Science

In studying the chemical mechanisms that control muscle contraction, Dr. Andrew R.