Light Library Supper for New Faculty
Tuesday, October 19, 6 pm
Just prior to the first full Faculty Meeting of the semester, the Amherst College Library will host its annual light supper/reception for new faculty, their departmental library representatives, and department chairs. It's an opportunity for new faculty members to mingle, nibble, and meet the crackerjack library staff. The event will be held in the Periodicals Area of the Frost Library, inside the main entranceway, on the right.

Amherst NEASC Reaccreditation Timeline

Spring 2006

  • Appointment of Reaccreditation Steering Committee and Ad Hoc Faculty Advisory Group on Reaccreditation
  • Barbara Brittingham, Director of the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (CIHE) of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC), visits Amherst in May 2006 to discuss the reaccreditation process with members of the Faculty and Administration.

Fall 2006

Final Report on Adopting the Mission Statement

Interim Report on the Adoption of a Mission Statement of the Ad Hoc Faculty Group on Reaccreditation

Academic Departments and Chairs 2015-2016

American Studies

 Chair: Robert T. Hayashi 
 Academic Department Coordinator: Karen Graves

Anthropology and Sociology

 Chair: Jerome L. Himmelstein 
 Academic Department Coordinator: Karen Graves

Architectural Studies

Amherst College NEASC Reaccreditation 2008


Ad Hoc Faculty Advisory Group on Reaccreditation
Professors Gregory Call (Mathematics and Computer Science), Dean of the Faculty, ex officio; Rhonda Cobham-Sander (Black Studies and English), Special Assistant to the President for Diversity; Tekla Harms (Geology); Peter Lobdell (Theater and Dance); Rose Olver (Psychology and Women’s and Gender Studies); Stanley Rabinowitz (Russian); and Frederick (Rick) Griffiths (Classics and Women’s and Gender Studies), Associate Dean of the Faculty (secretary)