Patrick Fitzgerald '82

Patrick Fitzgerald’s fellow alumni elected him to a six-year term on the Board of Trustees starting in 2013. He is a partner in the Chicago office of the law firm Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP and Affiliates.

Shirley Tilghman

Amherst College appointed Shirley Tilghman to a six-year term on its Board of Trustees starting in 2013. She was president of Princeton University from 2001 to 2013, during which time she oversaw the hiring of more women to the faculty, extensive growth in the role of creative and performing arts on campus, multiple major initiatives in the sciences and engineering, an expansion of the undergraduate student body and the addition of four-year residential colleges, as well as the university’s $1.88 billion Aspire campaign.


Patrick Fitzgerald '82

A Conversation with the New Board Chair


In July the Amherst Board of Trustees elected Cullen Murphy ’74, editor-at-large at Vanity Fair and a critically acclaimed author, as its new chairman. He succeeds Jide Zeitlin ’85, who served in the position since 2005.

How to Pick a Leader

By Charles R. Longsworth ’51

In June, one member of the 20-person Amherst Board of Trustees will succeed Jide Zeitlin ’85 as the group’s chair. How will this new leader be chosen?

The Trustees of Amherst College (more informally known as “the board”) are responsible for assuring that the college retains a qualified president, faculty and staff; gathers and manages resources needed to fulfill its mission; and is prudent and law-abiding. Six trustees are elected by the alumni body and 14 by the board.

Bank Regulator Is Newest Trustee

Frits van Paasschen '83

Submitted by Susan G. Englehardt on Tuesday, 3/31/2009, at 2:30 PM
Frits van Paasschen, Class of 1983

Sarah Bloom Raskin '83

Submitted by Susan G. Englehardt on Tuesday, 3/31/2009, at 2:29 PM
Sarah Bloom Raskin, Class of 1983

Nazir Ahmad Photo

Submitted by Susan G. Englehardt on Tuesday, 3/31/2009, at 2:28 PM
Nazir K. Ahmad, Class of 1982

New Trustee

Blair Taylor '86
New trustee Blair Taylor ’86 is president and CEO of the Los Angeles Urban League.
By Emanuel Costache ’09