Senior Assembly 2015

Senior Assembly took place on May 6, 2015, in Johnson Chapel, and featured the awarding of prizes and honorary class memberships; a speech by Professor Rhonda Cobham-Sander; and talks by Ricky Altieri ’15 and Tony Russo ’15. Listen to the talks below.

Amherst President Martin to Class of 2014: “Celebrate What You Have Achieved and Ramify”

Submitted on Friday, 6/6/2014, at 3:27 PM

May 25, 2014

The members of Amherst’s Class of 2014 toss their
caps after receiving their degrees

Commencement Address 2014

Amherst College’s Class of 2014 and Commencement, By the Numbers

Commencement Canes

May 22, 2014

AMHERST, Mass. — Amherst College will celebrate its 193rd Commencement on Sunday, May 25, at 10 a.m. on the school’s Main Quadrangle. The day’s exercises will feature addresses from College President Biddy Martin and senior Katherine E. Sisk, as well as the awarding of bachelor of arts degrees to 475 graduates and honorary doctorates to seven distinguished guests.

Member of Class of 1989 to Receive Amherst College’s Medal for Eminent Service at Commencement May 25

Submitted on Monday, 6/16/2014, at 1:35 PM

Amherst President Biddy Martin Receives Honorary Degree from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Submitted on Monday, 6/16/2014, at 1:30 PM

Senior Assembly 2014

Senior Assembly took place on May 8, 2014, in Johnson Chapel, and featured the awarding of prizes to the Class of 2014, as well as honorary class memberships to Leykia D. Brill, Admission; Tony D. Esposito, Dining Services; Don Kells, Post Office; and Theresa Ryan and Lourdes “Luly” Torres of the Campus Police.

New York Times Commentator, Olympic Gold Medal-Winning Swimmer and Renowned Statistician Among Seven to Be Honored at Amherst College Commencement May 25

Submitted on Sunday, 5/25/2014, at 9:05 AM

April 15, 2014

AMHERST, Mass.—Political and cultural commentator David Brooks, Olympic gold medal-winning swimmer Cullen Jones, tech entrepreneur Thai-Hi Lee ’80, statistician and writer Nate Silver, contemporary artist Sarah Sze, the late American studies scholar and transportation expert Yasuo Sakakibara and former Amherst College Board of Trustees chair and businessman Jide Zeitlin ’85 will all receive honorary degrees from Amherst College during its 193rd Commencement exercises on Sunday, May 25, at 10 a.m. on the school’s main quad.