imageSeated, from left: Thomas M. Davis III '71, Elon Musk, Peter Brown, Margaret Bangser '81, Leon Fleisher, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala and Frank Stella. Top row, from left: Andrew R. Marks '76, President Anthony W. Marx, Faculty Marshall Rowland Abiodun, Frank E. Stevenson II '77 and Honorary Marshal Douglas C. Neff '70.The following distinguished guests were honored during Commencement Weekend 2009.


Elon Musk

Elon Musk
Doctor of Humane Letters

Elon Musk is the co-founder of PayPal and SpaceX (Space Exploration Technologies), CEO of Tesla Motors and Chairman of the Board of SolarCity. In naming him its 2007 Entrepreneur of the Year, Inc. magazine hailed the young man as “an entrepreneur who’s not afraid to think really, really big.”