Zackie Achmat

Zackie Achmat,  Honorary Degree Recipient

Zackie Achmat (right) is presented with an honorary degree by President Anthony W. Marx.

Saraswathi Vedam ’78

Honorary degree recipient Saraswathi Vedam '78
Doctor of Science

Currently the director of the Division of Midwifery at the University of British Columbia, Saraswathi Vedam has spent a lifetime caring for pregnant women and families in the United States, Canada, the Netherlands and India.

Sir Brian Urquhart

Honorary degree recipient Sir Brian Urquhart
Doctor of Humane Letters

Born in England in 1919, Brian Urquhart was educated at Westminster School and Christ Church, Oxford.

Shirley M. Tilghman

Honorary degree recipient Shirley M. Tilghman
Doctor of Humane Letters

Shirley Tilghman became Princeton University’s 19th president—and its first female president—in June 2001.

Mohamed ElBaradei

Honorary degree recipient Mohamed ElBaradei
Doctor of Laws

Trained as a lawyer, Mohamed ElBaradei began his career in Egypt’s diplomatic service, joining the Permanent Missions of Egypt to the United Nations in 1964.

Geoffrey Canada

Honorary degree recipient Geoffrey Canada
Doctor of Humane Letters

Characterized by education activist Jonathan Kozol as “one of the best friends children have, or ever will have, in our nation,” Geoffrey Canada has served as president and CEO of the Harlem Children’s Zone (HCZ) since 1990.

Robert H. Brown, Jr. ’69

Honorary degree recipient Robert H. Brown, Jr. '69
Doctor of Science

Robert H. Brown, Jr.

Henry A. Freedman ’62

Honorary degree recipient Henry A. Freedman '62
Doctor of Laws

Henry A. Freedman joined the National Center for Law and Economic Justice (NCLEJ), formerly the Welfare Law Center, in its infancy and has served as its executive director since 1971.

2008 Honorands

Amherst College Professor Austin D. Sarat to Receive Honorary Degree from Providence College

Submitted by Emanuel Costache
April 9, 2008 Contact: Emanuel Costache '09 Media Relations Intern 413/542-2321 Caroline Jenkins Hanna Director of Media Relations 413/542-8417