Opening Convocation 2003: "The Socratic Challenge"

President Anthony W. Marx addressed faculty, students and guests at Opening Convocation on Monday, Sept. 1, 2003. Read the full text of the speech.Honorary M.A. degrees were awarded to three faculty members who recently reached the rank of full professor: Jyl Gentzler, professor of philosophy; Helen Oi-Lun Leung, professor of chemistry; and K. Uday Sinha Mehta, professor of political science.