Two Join Board of Trustees

By Peter Rooney

The Amherst board of trustees has two new members: Shirley Tilghman, former president of Princeton, and Patrick Fitzgerald ’82, who led the prosecutions of two successive governors of Illinois. Tilghman was chosen by the board; Fitzgerald was elected by his fellow alumni.

Amherst College To Honor Atomic Agency Head, Princeton President and Five Others at Commencement May 25

Submitted by Patricia M. Allen

May 7, 2008
Contact: Caroline Jenkins Hanna
Director of Media Relations


AMHERST, Mass.—Robert H. Brown Jr. ’69, professor of neurology at Harvard Medical School and director of the Day Neuromuscular Research Laboratory and Muscular Dystrophy Association clinic at Massachusetts General Hospital; Geoffrey Canada, president and CEO of the Harlem Children’s Zone; Mohamed ElBaradei, director general of the International Atomic Energy Agency; Henry A. Freedman ’62, executive director of the National Center for Law and Economic Justice; Shirley M. Tilghman, president of Princeton University; Sir Brian Urquhart, former undersecretary-general of the United Nations; and Saraswathi Vedam ’78, professor and director of the University of British Columbia’s division of midwifery, will all receive honorary degrees from Amherst College during the school’s 187th commencement exercises Sunday, May 25, at 10 a.m.