Alfred F. Havighurst Prize in History

The Alfred F. Havighurst Prize in History, established in June, 1970, and intended for the purchase of books, is awarded to that student, a major in the Department of History, who in the opinion of the faculty in History, has, in his or her four years at Amherst College, best fulfilled the standards of excellence and humane scholarship exemplified by Alfred F. Havighurst during the many years of his teaching career at Amherst College.

The Havighurst Prize in History for 2014 was awarded to Hannah M. Greenwald and Yi Lu


The Asa J. Davis Prize for Academic Distinction in the History of Africa and the Black Diaspora

The Asa J. Davis Prize is given each year to the student who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in the study of the history of Africa and the Black Diaspora and whose work best reflects the comprehensive interest of Asa Davis in historical and cultural contacts between Africa, the Old World and the Americas.

The Asa J. Davis Prize for 2014 was awarded to Tiffany A. Arnold

The John Petropulos Prize in Historical Scholarship

John Petropulos was for many years a significant voice both as a scholar and a teacher in the History Department. His scholarship ranged widely across the Mediterranean Basin into Europe, Asia, and North Africa, and his teaching crossed regional boundaries as well. In memory of John Petropulos’s scholarship and enthusiasm for teaching, the History Department awards a yearly prize for the best research paper (usually written in the context of a seminar) that conforms to the History department’s guidelines for research papers. The papers will be judged on:

  • use of primary sources
  • command of the field
  • understanding of historical method
  • elegance of style

Papers to be considered for the prize must be nominated by the supervising professors, and the selection of the prize-winner will be made by an ad hoc committee of History department faculty. Research papers prepared for any Amherst College history course in the fall and spring semesters are eligible.

The John Petropulos Prize for 2014 was awarded to Dylan Vasey for
'Most People Were Silent':
The Commodity Fetishism of Uranium during the Manhattan Project

His paper was written for Professor Ted Melillo's seminar:
Commodities, Nature and Society.