AAS Constitutional Committees

AAS Committees 20-21 and Descriptions

At-large members in italics 

Budgetary Committee (8 senators, 2 at-large): Brooke L. Harrington '22 (as Treasurer, Chair), Jeremy Thomas '21 (as President, ex-officio), Bella Edo '21, Basma Azzamok '22, Jae Yun Ham '22, Diego Carias '23, James Hulsizer '23, Sydney Ireland '23, Sirus Wheaton '23, Obi Okoli '24, Jack Dove '23Aditi Nayak '23

Elections Committee (5 senators): Tomajin Morikawa '21, Maira Owais '23, Blair Chase '24, Jerome Raymond '24, Lucas Romualdo '24

Appointments Board (6 senators): Jeremy Thomas '21 (as President, ex-officio), Noah Kim '22 (as Secretary, ex-officio), Tejia Pavao '21, Courtney Resch '22, Jake Shaprio '22, James Hulsizer '23, Sirus Wheaton '23, Jalen Woodard '23

AAS Standing Committees

AAS Standing Committee descriptions can be found in the AAS Bylaws

At-large members in italics

Transportation Committee (5 senators): Noah Kim '22 (as Secretary, ex-officio)

Dining Services Committee (3 senators, 2 at-large): Fareeda Adejumo '23, James Hulsizer '23, Jerome Raymond '24, Huichen (Will) Wang '23, Rebecca Cutforth '24

Mental Health Committee (4 senators, 2 at-large): David Rosa '21, Diego Carias '23, James Hulsizer '23, Syndey Ireland '23, Sophie Caldwell '23, Victoria Kuntz '23

Sustainability and Cliamte Committee (5 senators, two year terms, 2 at-large): Rebecca Novick '21, Witter Swanson '21, Cole Graber-Mitchell '22, Sofia Guerra '22, Allie Ho '24, Dan Gonzalez-Kosasky '24, Jerome Raymond '24, Jackson Lee '24

Orientation and First-Year Life Committee (5 senators, with 2 first-year senators): Alexi Lee '22, Yvette Kiptoo '23, Maira Owais '23, Lori Alarcon '24, Blair Chase '24

Arts Committee (3 senators, 3 at-large): Sydney Ireland '23, Maira Owais '23, Jerome Raymond '24, Tim Song '22, Tina Zhang '24

Student Town Advisory Board (1 senator, 1 at-large): Benjamin X. Gilsdorf '21

Five College Coordinating Board (1 senator, President): Jeremy Thomas '21 (as President, ex-officio)

Faculty Committees

Faculty committee descriptions can be found in the faculty handbook

At-large members in italics 

College Council (4 senators; 1 senator from each class): Jeremy Thomas '21 (as President, ex-officio), David Rosa '21, Sofia Guerra '22, Sirus Wheaton '23

Committee on Priorities and Resources (CPR) (2 senators, 2 year terms, elected in different years; one e-board member, 1 year term, without vote): Brooke L. Harrington '22 (as Treasurer, ex-officio), Sydney Ireland '23, Allie Ho '24

Committee on Educational Policy (CEP) (3 senators, 2 year terms, elected in different years; one student from each the Humanities, Social Sciences and Natural Sciences): Rob Parker '21, Cole Graber-Mitchell '22, Jalen Woodard '23

Community Standards Review Board (CSRB) (4 senators; two year terms): Gregory D. Franklin '20, Tejia L. Pavao '21, Sydney B. Ireland '23, Lovemore M. Nyaumwe Jr. '23

Faculty Committee on Admission and Financial Aid (FCAFA) (2 senators; 2 year terms): Ilyssa Sophia Forman '22

Committee on Education and Athletics (1 senator): Bella Edo '21

Library Committee (2 senators, 1 at-large): Witter Swanson '21, Maira Owais '23, Kimberly Agosto ‘24

Title IX Committee (1 senator, 3 at-large): Ilyssa Forman '22, Victoria Kuntz '23, Cecilia Curran '24

Other Committees

At large members in italics

Powerhouse Committee (1 senator, 3 at-large, campus community coordinator): Andrea Webb '21, Carolyn Thomas '23

Mental Health Fund (1 senator): 

AAS Teaching Award Committee (Secretary, senator volunteers): Noah Kim '22 (as Secretary)

Sexual Respect Task Force (2 senators, two year terms, 5 at-large):

AAS Special Committees

Bicentennial Student Advisory Committee (2 senators from class of 2021, 2 at-large from class of 2021, 5 at-large; two-year terms): Tejia L. Pavao '21, Isiaha J. Price '21

Bicentennial Student Advisory Committee Description

I. The Bicentennial Committee shall be comprised of two class of 2021 senators, two class of 2021 at-large members, and five open at-large seats for two-year terms.

II. The Committee shall be tasked with developing celebrations and events for the bicentennial anniversary of Amherst College, including but not limited to the 200th Commencement.

III. The Committee shall work with members of the Amherst Community, including but not limited to, students and faculty in order to best fulfill the mission of the committee.